Delain – Dark Waters (Napalm Records)

With a new Delain release there will be no doubt be some trepidation and hand wringing following the shock split between keyboardist Martijn Westerholt and his entire band back in 2021. Even more so since the split happened a year from their somewhat departure record Apocalypse & Chill, an album that was definitely looking to..


There are so many retro-metal and NWOTHM bands these days and yet, very few of them are capable of capturing the true essence of the early days of the genre, meaning late 70s – early 80s. Amethyst, coming from Switzerland, is one such band, unashamedly performing the music they love, BUT with the spirit and..

Big City – Sunwind Sails (Frontiers Music)

Big City is a Norwegian heavy melodic rock band with Sunwind Sails being their fourth album following on from the very impressive Testify X which was released in 2021. The band is the brainchild of the guitarist and songwriter Daniel Olaisen (Blood Red Throne/Scariot) and he quickly brought in fellow Scariot guitarist Frank Ørland and..

SMACKBOUND : ‘Hostage ‘ | new album by Finnish hard rock quintet out 21 April 2023 via Frontiers

photo by Lauri Hämäläinen Finnish hard rock act Smackbound will release their second album, Hostage, on 21st April via Frontiers Music Srl. Fronted by versatile vocalist Netta Laurenne, it sees the quintet deliver another powerful slab of metal-influenced musin. A first single and video from the record for the song Change is available from today...

Photo: Geoff Ford


YES are delighted to announce that drummer Jay Schellen has joined the band as a permanent member.  Following the sad passing of iconic drummer, Alan White on 26th May 2022, Jay will fulfil Alan’s wishes in becoming the new drummer with YES.  Jay Schellen was Alan White’s choice to stand in during the Topographic Drama tour,..

Connor Selby – CONNOR SELBY (Provogue)

In 2018, while studying at university, long-haired Essex-born teenager Connor Selby released his debut album of blues music on the 3ms label. In 2021, a more mature, neatly-trimmed but still arrestingly youthful Selby self-released his second set. But now he has been signed to the mighty Provogue, this second album, simply titled Connor Selby, has..


Revolution Saints, the band centered around vocalist/drummer Deen Castronovo, have returned with a new line-up and a new album, Eagle Flight, scheduled for release on 21 April, 2023. Castronovo is joined by new companions, guitarist Joel Hoekstra and bassist Jeff Pilson for Revolution Saints, MK II. A new single and music video, 'Talking Like Strangers' is out now.Revolution Saints was..