June 28, 2021
Photo: Irene Bernad

Afasica is a three-piece instrumental progressive rock band from Valencia in Spain which formed in 2012 but it wasn’t until 2016 that the first EP was put out and now we have the bands second EP available which hardly makes them a prolific band in terms of studio output.

The AfasicA EP contained just the three tacks for almost 18-minute of incendiary metal which left you wanting so much more and it is a similar situation with Papirolepsia which features five tracks but two are merely intro’s and outro’s with the three in between following a similar pattern in terms of sound and length to the first record. The music is gorgeous, sumptuous and really rocks in thrilling fashion with the band having a similar sound to that of the G3 and Portnoy/Sheehan/MacAlpine/Sherinian projects. Andrés Aguilar (bass) and Jose Morales (drums) set a solid base over which Pedro González explodes in true metal god mode with his amazing skills and thrilling runs. Switching with ease from full blown metal assault to refined and contemplative prog is very easy for this most talented of instrumental teams.

Again, this can be considered as a mere sampler of the wares that they boys have to offer and a full length debut is awaited with eagerness and will surely be a game changer for this exciting band.

Papirolepsia track list

  1. Contienda (1:28)
  2. Apofenia (5:13)
  3. Tardigrada (6:51)
  4. Luciferina (6:33)
  5. Tregua (2:33)