October 26, 2021

Top row: U.D.O. & Herman Frank; middle row: Lordi & Metalite and bottom row Flotsam and Jetsam & Orden Ogan

AFM Records has been releasing quality heavy rock music now for 25-years and the label has found an excellent way to celebrate and reflect upon those years and the very many fine metal bands that have been brought to our attention.

Now, it would have been very easy to knock out a quick compilation album featuring the more well know bands and their favourite songs and this would have been well received but the label has always done things a little differently and has spent a little more time and attention to detail on this celebratory double CD which features 30 bands and runs at a impressive 139 minutes that is going to delight just about every metalhead you can imagine. Effectively, a trawl of the labels vaults has released a host of previously rare or unreleased gems which are all now gathered in one place for the first time. Effectively, the remit was to find unreleased material or rare tracks that had maybe only been bonus songs or only on specific country releases so this is not a question of trawling the bottle of the barrel but more a case of finding those hidden gems that deserve to see the light of day and a much bigger audience too.

Check out the running order to see the bands involved and you will find some truly unexpected delights laid out before you and some brilliant and rather unexpected covers that you simply would never expect. This is the beauty of the album as you get to see a previously unseen facet of your favourite bands and you are going to love it. Compilation albums can be something of a curate’s egg but this is an album that totally delivers in every single track. The bands here are excellent and you will know most if not all of them and quite possibly have most of the albums so the fact that they are all mostly previously unreleased tracks makes this a brilliant and must have compilation.

Lock the door, turn off the phone, crank up the volume and get fully immersed in 139-minutes of heavy metal heaven, what’s not to like?

25 Years Metal Addiction – The Rare & The Unreleased


  1. U.D.O. – Falling Angels (4:55)
  2. 02. Firewind – New Found Power (4:15)
  3. 03. Evergrey – The Darkness In You (5:37)
  4. 04. Metalite – Hunting High And Low (Stratovarius Cover) (4:37)
  5. 05. Emil Bulls – Night Over Disneyland (3:56)
  6. 06. Bloodbound – Bloodheads United (5:21)
  7. 07. Orden Ogan – Fields Of Sorrow (Orchestral Version) (5:25)
  8. 08. Elvenking – No Prayer For The Dying (Iron Maiden Cover) (4:28)
  9. 09. Dragonland – At The Inn Of Éamon Bayle (3:56)
  10. 10. Mors Principium Est – Livin’ La Vida Loca (Ricky Martin Cover) (3:02)
  11. 11. Dead City Ruins – Devil Man (2019 Version) (2:19)
  12. 12. Herman Franks – Forever (5:50)
  13. 13. Ross The Boss – Blood Of My Enemies (Manowar Cover) (3:50)
  14. 14. Nostradameus – The Voyager (4:57)
  15. 15. Solution .45 – Spirit Side Dreaming (3:46)


  1. Flotsam And Jetsam – Life, Love, Death (4:47)
  2. 02. Dynazty – Prestige (3:36)
  3. 03. Lordi – Hulking Dynamo (6:07)
  4. 04. Shakra – I Want It (4:43)
  5. 05. Brainstorm – The Kindred Soul (4:20)
  6. 06. Deaf Rat – Like A Prayer (Madonna Cover) (5:09)
  7. 07. Arion – Punish You (Radio Edit) (3:41)
  8. 08. At Vance – The Evil In You (re-recorded) (5:11)
  9. 09. Iron Mask – March Of The Slaves (6:33)
  10. 10. Paradox – Timegrain (5:08)
  11. 11. Evidence One – Wait Up For More (3:51)
  12. 12. Burning Point – Ton Of Bricks (Metal Church Cover) (2:58)
  13. 13. Serious Black – I Show You My Heart (5:11)
  14. 14. Pyramaze – World Foregone (Orchestral Version) (5:15)
  15. 15. Epysode – Forgotten Symphony (Extended Mix) (9:14)