February 25, 2022

It seems to be a pretty good time to be an Alan Parsons devotee at the moment as it was only a few months ago that he released The Never Ending Show – Live In The Netherlands, a very special and thrilling live double CD and DVD affair which was reviewed in November, 2021. It seems that Alan received a request to play in Tel Aviv whilst he was performing the Never Ending Tour shows and the fact that the gig offer included a full orchestra was something that Parsons could not turn down and if any musician produces music ready-made to be performed with an orchestra then it surely must be Parsons. Obviously, Alan’s first album in 15 years, The Secret, which came out in 2019 has been something of a catalyst and it is nice to see the great man making new music and touring his spectacular and ambitious shows.

Given that Live In Tel Aviv was recorded during the scheduled tour it is no surprise then that this live double CD and DVD set features the same musicians as on Live In The Netherlands with Parsons contributing vocals, acoustic guitar, ukulele and keyboards with lots of familiar names in the line-up with P.J. Olsson giving his usual and thrilling performance on lead vocals, acoustic guitar and percussion with Todd Cooper on vocals, sax, recorder, acoustic guitar and percussion. Jeff Kollman and Dan Tracey again play superlative guitar as well as supplying backing vocals with Guy Erez on bass and vocals and Tom Brooks on keyboards and vocals and Danny Thompson on drums and vocals. Again Jordan Asher Huffman provides guest vocals and then we have the might of The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and, remarkably, it is one of Parsons musicians, Tom Brook, who works as musical arranger and conductor for the orchestra. Again, unsurprisingly both sets are very similar so you get the usual tracks that Alan simply has to play and then a couple of new ones from the latest album. The Amsterdam release got Psychobabble, I Robot and Limelight which are not on Tel Aviv but you do get Silence And I and The Sorcerer’s Apprentice which is from the new album and is a new version of the well known song that featured on Fantasia which, as I’m sure everyone knows, is the one with Mickey Mouse and the mops, so it was a no brainer to add this one to the set.

As usual, the music is uplifting and laid back in a very gentle and pleasant way with the musicians involved all being genuine masters of their craft with the orchestra adding that extra touch of gravitas to the proceedings. Both band and orchestra work very well together and both encourage and support each other making this a really beautiful album that draws you into the performance so that you are almost part of the audience. Alan Parsons didn’t tour for many, many years and I’m sure that the love and support he and his band have been receiving will ensure that his is a name that we now see more of on the live circuit.

You can see the set list below and what a treat it is and there can be not many bands that can match Parsons and his band for quality, class and atmosphere this is cultured rock music at its very best. The orchestra also allows the musicians to play around a little with the music and they all revel in this new found freedom which is afforded to them and you get to hear the well know music but just a little differently and to see new facets in songs that you have literally grown up with, pure genius. The concert stage is rather large but there are a lot of musicians on it which actually means that the band and orchestra appear as one unit which is visually very effective and all of the camera angles and close ups bring out the very best features for the gig. It’s obvious that both band and orchestra are having a great deal of fun and this comes across on the perfect sound that they all produce. Plenty of great lights makes for a spectacular show and allied with the crystal clear sound makes this an audio and visual feast to thoroughly enjoy all of the complexities of an Alan Parsons gig. The sound mix is available in both stereo and 5.1 and gives a wonderful clarity to a quite remarkable concert from a real legend in rock. There are quite a few sci-fi animated passages throughout showing a spaceship in space and landing in a docking station and, whilst perfectly shot, I found them just a little distracting from the show. As with Live In The Netherlands release this is a 2CD+DVD package and is available as a standalone Blu-ray too and is perfectly put together and complied. Both recordings work perfectly independently to each other but it is great to compare and contrast the band gig from Holland compared to the full orchestra in Tel Aviv. Both work perfectly simply due to the fact that Alan Parsons and team have always produced music of an orchestral persuasion.

One Note Symphony is a perfectly filmed gig with superb sound and is an essential watch and listen from a team of incredibly talented musicians and you can only revel in delight with some extremely well know songs that are just like old friends.

One Note Symphony – Live In Tel Aviv


  1. One Note Symphony (5:17)
  2. Damned If I Do (4:54)
  3. Don’t Answer Me (4:30)
  4. Time (5:47), Breakdown/The Raven (6:45)
  5. Luciferama (4:56)
  6. Silence And I (7:41)
  7. I Wouldn’t Want To Be Like You (4:46)
  8. Don’t Let It Show (4:42)


  1. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (5:50)
  2. Standing On Higher Ground (4:37)
  3. As Lights Fall (3:56)
  4. I Can’t Get There From Here (4:46)
  5. Prime Time (10:58)
  6. Sirius/Eye In The Sky (5:53)
  7. Old And Wise (5:31)
  8. (The System Of) Dr. Tarr And Professor Fether (3:32)
  9. Games People Play (4:39)


  1. One Note Symphony
  2. Damned If I Do
  3. Don’t Answer Me, Time
  4. Breakdown/The Raven
  5. Miracle* (DVD/Blu-ray only)
  6. Luciferama
  7. Silence And I
  8. I Wouldn’t Want To Be Like You
  9. Don’t Let It Show
  10. The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
  11. Standing On Higher Ground
  12. As Lights Fall
  13. I Can’t Get There From Here
  14. Prime Time, Sirius/Eye In The Sky
  15. Old And Wise
  16. (The System Of) Dr. Tarr And Professor Fether
  17. Games People Play