June 7, 2023

UK blues rock band, Albany  Down, are pleased to announce the release of their new album “Born In  The Ashes” on Friday 1 September 2023. The album is available to pre-order from http://shop.albanydown.com.

Stream the first single, “Always Want What You Can’t Have” from ttps://lnkfi.re/albanydown

The music video for the new single is now streaming on YouTube HERE

Albany Down comprises founder member Paul Turley on vocals and guitars, drummer and backing vocalist, Pete Hancock, and bassist and backing vocalist Ben Atkins

Albany Down originally came together with some classic rock and British blues-rock influences, but with their 2011 debut album, South of the City,” they found their own sound. The band has recorded four studio albums with producer Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, INME, Super Furry Animals).

Blues Rock Review offered a fair assessment of the band and their debut album: “South of the City” is a solid debut album from Albany Down. It will be interesting to see how they develop in the coming years.” 

In 2013 the band stepped up to the plate with 12 original well-crafted songs on their formidable second album Not Over Yet“, including the 2013 ISC award winning “Best Blues Song” – “You Ain’t Coming Home.” Traditionally a band’s second album is regarded as being problematical but Albany Down turned that notion on its head, taking all that was good in “South of the City,” honing their song writing craft and revelling in Greg Haver’s powerful production.

With the release of their third album The Outer Reach in 2016, Albany Down won many new fans touring in the UK and The Netherlands. They were voted winners of the 2016 UK Song Writing Competition for Best Rock Song (“Feeding the Flame”) and Best Music Video, and voted #5 Best Album of 2016 by Blues Rock Review. 

It was no surprise therefore that in 2020 they once again turned to Greg to produce their new opus Born In The Ashes” which like previous albums has a strong “overcoming adversity” theme, inspired by those darkest days during the 2020/22 global pandemic followed by War in Ukraine, political, civil, and economic unrest. The new album was recorded at Rockfield Studios with Greg bringing together the same recording and production team as he used on all previous Albany Down albums.

“We all came to the band with different but related musical influences” says Paul Turley. “I wanted to build on those and write and play music that was all our own and contemporary. We enjoyed working with Greg and his team and he has undoubtedly enabled us to expand both our musical horizons and our self confidence in trying out new things.”

To coincide with the release of the new album release, the band have also made a music video, recorded at The Musician in Leicester (a great little venue!).

The video features the new single and album opening track, Always Want What You Can’t Have. “This is one of the first songs I wrote for the new album,” says Paul. “It was also the first song we recorded at Rockfield. The lyrics of the songs are both potent and relevant to those who are never satisfied with what they have in life.”

With over 12,000 fans on Facebook, fans of Albany Down agree that their live show never disappoints. The band run on pure adrenalin, unrelenting energy and raw emotion and soon have any crowd entranced. The music is based on Paul’s thunderous guitar riffs, Pete and Ben’s pounding bass and drums juxtaposed with soulful, soaring, emotionally charged ballads.

Album Track Listing (CD and Digital)

1.  Always Want What You Can’t Have
2.  Good News
3.  Same Damn Thing
4.  The Memory of What Used To Be
5.  Reflections
6.  Born In The Ashes
7.  Darkest Day
8.  Kingdom of the Blind
9.  Don’t Look Back
10. I’ll Come Running
11. Your Days Are Numbered
12. This Heavy Soul
13. Let Your Love Shine

Album Track Listing (Vinyl)

Side A

1. Always Want What You Can’t Have
2. Good News
3 Same Damn Thing
4. The Memory of What Used To Be
5. Reflections

Side B

6. Born In The Ashes
7. Darkest Day
8. I’ll Come Running
9. This Heavy Soul
10. Let Your Love Shine

Production Credits

Paul Turley: Lead and backing vocals, guitars
Ben Atkins: Bass guitar, backing vocals
Pete Hancock: Drums, backing vocals
Produced by Greg Haver
Engineered by Clint Murphy
Assistant Engineer: Tarrant Shepherd
Backing vocals: Cat Wyn Southall
Keys: Nick Nasmyth
Strings: Andrew Walters – The Vulcan Strings
Brass: Uppercut Horns
French Horn Matt Jewell (Darkest Day)
Bedford Friends Choir (This Heavy Soul)
Mastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound USA

Album Track By Track 

Always Want What You Can’t Have
The album kicks off with the first song the band recorded at Rockfield Studios. Opening with a spiky guitar riff that is soon joined by a thumping rhythm section groove, in a song for people who are never satisfied with what they have.

Good News
An endless barrage of bad news can soon wear you down, this song is a reminder that sometimes we all need a little Good News too. From the very first chord this tune Rocks like a bull in a China shop.

Same Damn Thing
Brass stabs lend a hint of a Motown feel to this song about the feeling of being stuck in a rut, unable to escape your worries.

The Memory of What Used To Be
A meditation on the relentless passage of time and the inevitability of change, featuring the beautiful soulful vocals of Cat Wyn Southall and benefitting from Greg Haver’s powerful production.

A Hendrix-tinged blues rock song contemplating the paths in life we didn’t take.

Born In The Ashes
A song about rebirth and renewal seems appropriate as the title track of the new album. The band’s first live performance of this song was at the Whitby Blues Festival in November 2022 which proved to be the perfect setting for their “Born In The Ashes” album music video.

Darkest Day
Continuing the themes of Born In The Ashes this dynamic song evokes a new chapter in the direction of the album. It creates a musical tapestry of images that bring together elements of the previous songs with those that are to follow.

Kingdom of the Blind
This is an escapist homage to the Classic Rock songs of yesteryear. The song is littered with obscure cultural references, including its title which originates from a quote credited to Dutch philosopher Desiderius Erasmus.

Don’t Look Back
This high-octane rock song describes a journey of “no return” at a breakneck pace.

I’ll Come Running
A feel-good song about friendship, featuring Brass recorded by Uppercut Horns in New Zealand

Your Days Are Numbered
Inspired by corrupt leaders clinging to power, this song describes the termination of a dysfunctional relationship.

This Heavy Soul
The albums penultimate song is a heartfelt ballad and a message of hope to those who feel the weight of existence is too much to bear.

Let Your Love Shine
The final track on the album is a powerful love song full of optimism for a better future.

The album title track Born In The Ashes” has recently been awarded semi-finalist in the 2022
ISC International Song Writing Competition “Best Rock Song” category.





Stockwell Lane, Wavendon, Milton Keynes, MK17 8LU

100 Oxford Street, London, W1D 1LL

Clyde Street, Leicester, LE1 2DE

24 St. Mary’s Street, Bedford, MK42 OAS

Greystones Road, Sheffield, S11 7BS

12-16 Northgate Street, Chester, CH1 2SA

33 Bath Street, Leamington Spa, CV31 3AF

Earle Street, Newton-Le-Willows, WA12 9LR

Marine Road, Morecambe, LA4 4DB
(Supporting Chatel McGregor) 

/ / /

Photo by Blackham Images