September 5, 2021

Alirio Netto is a singer and actor from Brazil who has amassed quite a career in his native land as is renowned as a cross genre vocalist and very comfortable with musical theatre too. All Things Must Pass is his debut international release and is a most impressive hard rock album on which Alirio showcases is golden vocals to great effect. You may already have heard him sing as he was the singer on the Khallice album The Journey and has released two albums with Age Of Artemis too. He has also recently joined Shaman (not to be confused with The Shamen) as the replacement for the late Andre Matos so he is most certainly expanding his sphere of influence. Netto has played the lead role and the part of Judas in South American versions of Jesus Christ Superstar as well as the lead in We Will Rock You and his performances with the Queen tribute act Queen Extravaganza which has drawn lavish praise from Roger Taylor in which he lauds his vocal skills as well as commenting that he is ‘a great showman’ and given that he worked with the greatest rock showman of all time then it is a quote worthy of note.

All Things Must Pass is a fast and furious hard rock album that is designed not only to show the huge power and range of Alirio but also the skills of his band which features the Grammy award winning producer Adriano Daga on drums, Felipe Andreoli of Angra on bass with a whole host of guitarists who riff and solo to their hearts content. He also shares a duet with the new Journey singer Amel Pineda which is worth the money for the album alone.

Alirio Netto may be a new name to many of us but I can confidently state that he is another South American musician that we in Europe are going to get to know very well. The songs are all around the 3 to 4 minute mark and are perfectly crafted pieces or rock nirvana with some excellent vocal harmonies and an overriding sense of melody that ensures that the music always maintains that essential everyman appeal. There are a couple of ballads on which Alirio takes us through the emotional ringer as he bares his soul and shows his emotional and sensitive side yet he always manages to convey a sense of brooding power that can erupt at any moment.

The only gripe I have with the album is that it is rather short at just under 36 minutes yet if you buy the download rather than the physical CD then you get a further five songs for another 17 minutes of music but I cannot comment on these extra tracks as they were not included for review. Personally, I find this treatment of the CD buying public as rather shoddy and wonder why one set of fans is being treated differently to another?

All Things Must Pass track list

  1. All Things Must Pass (4:19)
  2. Let It All Burn (Feat. Hugo Mariutti) (2:51)
  3. Here I Am (4:24)
  4. Back To The Roots (3:26)
  5. The First Time (3:17)
  6. Edinburgh (3:25)
  7. Back To The Light (Feat. Andria Busic) (3:07)
  8. I’m Still Here (Feat. Ivan Busic) (4:37)
  9. Grey (Feat. Arnel Pineda) (3:41)
  10. You Hate (Feat. Alberto Rionda) (2:43)