January 13, 2021


Danny Kiranos, otherwise known by his musical alter ego Amigo The Devil, has announced a new release date for his highly anticipated second full length album, Born Against (Liars Club/Regime Music Group). Known for his dark and macabre storytelling, the new record sees Amigo The Devil expand his repertoire with romantic, philosophical and emotional narratives, achieved without sacrificing the genre-bending style that has garnered him critical praise and a passionate worldwide cult following. The poignant and powerful Another Man’s Grave has already been released as an introductory single, while a stripped down and captivating solo acoustic performance of the song can be seen and heard below.

Born Against is the follow up to Amigo The Devil‘s acclaimed 2018 debut, Everything Is Fine, which crossed musical boundaries by connecting with fans of rock, folk, Americana, country, metal and beyond. An unflinching raconteur and emotive vocalist, ATD‘s songs resonated deeply with a devoted fanbase and publications that ranged from Consequence of Sound to Americana UK to Kerrang!. His home city of Austin even declared November 16th ‘Amigo The Devil Day’.

Like so many, the isolation and impact of Covid deeply affected Kiranos, with the result that his creativity suffered. Inspired by master storytellers such as Tom Waits and Leonard Cohen, plus current works by Fiona Apple and Father John Misty, he began to write from a third person perspective. This allowed him to immerse himself in his characters and record new songs that had the emotional intensity of a first-person viewpoint. Always evolving as a writer, he began to widen his storylines beyond what Amigo The Devil had become known for, resulting in songs that are vivid and cinematic vignettes of flawed protagonists on the edge, desperately clinging to some sense of stability while following their heart’s chosen path.

The songs on Born Against feature beautifully haunting melodies surrounded by avant-garde soundscapes built with crashes, clashes, stomps, clicks and clangs, while titles such as Different Anymore, Letter From Death Row, 24k Casket and Drop For Every Hour set a tone for new listeners to become as fully engaged as so many already have.

Following the late 2018 (early 2019 in the UK) release of Everything Is Fine, his Ross Robinson produced debut album, Amigo The Devil became a folk anomaly, drawing attention from the likes of Noisey, Consequence of Sound and Brooklyn Vegan in the US, plus a diverse range of UK publications that included Kerrang!, Americana UK and Planet Rock. LA Weekly described him as “Johnny Cash at his blackest, mixed with Father John Misty, if he exhumed graves at Hollywood Forever Cemetery“, while Rolling Stone proclaimed that “Kiranos unflinchingly explores dark and grim subject matter from suicide to serial killers. He spins these topics into dark love songs that explode into heavy-metal catharsis.”

Amigo The Devil followed up non-stop touring of the US in 2019 with a first UK and European trek in early 2020 that had audiences in raptures wherever he performed.

Born Against track list

1  Small Stone
2  Quiet As A Rat
3  Murder At The Bingo Hall
4  Drop For Every Hour
5  Better Ways To Fry A Fish
6  Different Anymore
7  Another Man’s Grave
8  24k Casket
9  Shadow
10  Letter From Death Row