January 31, 2024

Andromida is the progressive metalcore project for the rather remarkable musician Ramon Gutierrez and is story is one that makes you truly appreciate the power of the human spirit as he was designated legally blind when very young but this did not stop or curtail his musical ambitions. These began when he taught himself to play the violin before moving onto the guitar and developing mixing, mastering and production skills to. It seems he had some difficulties forming a band hence the formation of the vehicle that is Andromida although he has brought in several friends/guests with contributions from the alt-rock and hardcore world in Fight the Fade, Daedric, Dropout Kings, and Beyond Unbroken.

What we have here are four punchy and provocative tracks that encompass nu-metal and hardcore all neatly wrapped up in ferocious metal shell with rapped vocals mixed in with clean and dirty too. There’s a lot happening on the EP with differing genres shoehorned together but it really does work as there is a flow to the EP and the chaotic, brutal nature of the work contrasts with some great vocals, grungy guitar and a synth beat that makes this an ideal soundtrack for some huge, pounding hell based nightclub where you just know tomorrow’s hangover is going to be huge but the music makes is so worthwhile.  

Andromida/Gutierrez seems to have quite a lot of material in his back catalogue and further investigation is highly recommended where what initially seems musical mayhem slots neatly into place and the louder the volume the better the experience. 

Lost Voices

  1. Conquer (feat Fight The Fade) (4:33)
  2. Abandon (feat Daedric) (4:00)
  3. Real (feat Dropout Kings) (3:38)
  4. Break the Cycle (feat Beyond Unbroken) (3:53)
  5. Conquer (Instrumental) (4:33)
  6. Abandon (Instrumental) (4:00)
  7. Real (Instrumental) (3:38)
  8. Break the Cycle (Instrumental) (3:53)