July 20, 2023

Four years after the world-wide released and critically acclaimed album Nucleus in 2019 (a re-recording of their classic hits with English lyrics), leading Japanese Heavy Metal band, ANTHEM have released their brand new studio album called Crimson & Jet Black in Europe on April 21st, 2023 via Reaper Entertainment.

Today, the band just released a new music video for the song Blood Brothers, taken of the current album. The video can be seen below.

The band states: “We chose this song for the 3rd video because it was the fastest tune on the album and both the music and lyrics were full of positive energy. This represents our feeling very well.
The theme of the video is that we go see the concert of our own. As it was shot at our actual concert, we were in line with the audience, bought merch and went into the audience after the gig was over. We all love this kind of crazy things so we had a lot of fun. Be sure to watch it till the very end as there’s some fun footage. We hope you all will enjoy the video!”

After finishing not one, but two anniversary tours in 2021 (= the band’s 35th anniversary tour, which had been postponed due to the pandemic restrictions, as well the 20th anniversary of their reunion tour entitled ANTHEM vs ANTHEM 2001), ANTHEM pursued this new album to jumpstart their next chapter. Originally scheduled to be completed in the Spring of 2022, the band’s leader Naoto Shibata, being the perfectionist that he is, decided to enrich the songs’ quality even more and pushed back the recording schedule to Summer/Autumn, so that pure brilliance may unfold. Just like on past albums, Naoto is the main producer of the album, but this time renowned Swedish producer Jens Bogren, (known for his work with the likes of Arch Enemy, Amon Amarth, Dimmu Borgir and Opeth, to name but a few) who had previously mixed and mastered Nucleus, is credited as a co-producer.

Crimson & Jet Black

  1. Snake Eyes
  2. Wheels Of Fire
  3. Howling Days
  4. Roaring Vortex
  5. Blood Brothers
  6. Master Of Disaster
  7. Void Ark
  8. Faster
  9. Burn Down The Wall
  10. Mystic Echoes
  11. Danger Flight

Naoto Shibata – bass
Akio Shimizu – guitar
Yukio Morikawa – vocals
Isamu Tamaru – drums

ANTHEM online: