August 23, 2022

The rock world is roughly split into two camps, those who have seen the Anvil documentary, The Story Of Anvil, and those who haven’t. If you are one of those yet to discover this treasure of a documentary then you should do so immediately as this will ensure that you take Anvil to your heart. It’s the real story of a rock band and the trials and tribulations that they go through for just a few moments of acclaim, simply wonderful and quite eye opening for anyone considering a career in rock. In many ways it’s a sister release to the 1976 BBC documentary which followed The Kursaal Flyers on tour in the UK in 1975 which showed the life of a touring musician in the raw and promptly ensured that many a budding artist put their instruments back in the closet!

Anvil was formed in Canada way back in 1978 and this power trio has now released album number 19 and has been an influence to a greater or lesser effect on bands like Metallica, Megadeth and Slayer due to their powerful, intense and storming metal which hits you like – well – an anvil in the face! The documentary has actually seen a re-examining of the band and its musical output and it is nice to record that the name Anvil now garners far more accolades and far less derision than in the bad old days. They have a style, stick to it through thick or thin and have a great time doing so. Guitar, bass, drum and vocals without trickery or thrills, just honest to goodness hard rock that stands comparison with just about any power trio you care to mention but I guess the closest band in style and composition would be Triumph, another great Canadian three-piece.

Original members Steve ‘Lips’ Kudlow (vocals/guitar) and Robb Reiner (drums) have worked with a number of musicians over the years with bassist and backing vocalist Chris Robertson now firmly ensconced in the band having joined in 2014. It is perhaps no coincidence that the last couple of albums have been so strong with a definite chemistry growing between the three musicians and Impact Is Imminent builds on Legal At Last to deliver a monumental slab of hard, driving rock which revels in magnificent Motörhead style mayhem. Steve Kudlow has a classic metal voice which is perfectly supported by that of Robertson with Kudlow being a greatly underestimated guitarist as he riffs and solos as good as any metal god you can think of. His churning power chords and killer breaks make up much of the Anvil sound and he does it all his own way which has ensured that Anvil has remained the same band for 44 years now. You will recognise just about everything on this album as it is archetypal hard rock but Kudlow does like to throw the occasional curve ball and it will be interesting to see what fans make of a couple of instrumental tracks in Teabag and Gomez which hardly follow the usual Anvil template but great to see that they still like to experiment.

Give the album a listen and you will be greatly impressed and show that the years may be shooting past but Anvil remains a welcome constant in our lives.

Impact Is Imminent

  1. Take A Lesson (4:21)
  2. Ghost Shadow (3:08)
  3. Another Gun Fight (4:04)
  4. Fire Rain (2:43)
  5. Teabag (2:38)
  6. Don’t Look Back (3:18)
  7. Someone To Hate (3:36)
  8. Bad Side Of Town (3:29)
  9. Wizard´s Wand (4:05)
  10. Lockdown (3:50)
  11. Explosive Energy (3:20)
  12. The Rabbit Hole (3:44)
  13. Shockwave (4:57)
  14. Gomez (2:38)