December 17, 2020

The Tech Death gods from ARCHSPIRE have just finished the recordings of their 4th studio album which will be released in 2021 via Season of Mist. The recordings again took place at the Flatline Audio Studio in Denver, Colorado by studio engineer Dave Otero. The new offering will be the follow up of the 2017 masterpiece Relentless Mutation

ARCHSPIRE comments: “WE DID IT! We completed our 6 week sentence in Music Prison (FLATLINE AUDIO Studios in Colorado) with Tech Support Professional DAVE OTERO at the helm! We went with Dave once again as a follow-up to our 2017 release: RELENTLESS MUTATION, where our deep love for him was first kindled. This album is a product of roughly two and a half years of writing, and we truly feel it’s the most solid material we’ve ever created. This album is very fast, so please enjoy responsibly. Stay Tech!”

ARCHSPIRE previously announced new European tour dates for November/December 2021. The Canadian tech maniacs are blasting through 12 cities at 350 bpm and a full list of confirmed shows can be viewed below.

The band comments on the tour:  “EUROPE!!! We’re coming back!!!  Our last Euro tour was such an amazing success, we decided you guys want more TECH! So we’re teaming up with RIVERS OF NIHIL to bring you the FACES OF DEATH TOUR 2021!!! Alongside us, we’ll be hanging out with Allegaeon, Black Crown Initiate, and To The Grave!!! We just can’t wait to get back across the Atlantic to visit our favorite places, and hangout with you wonderful people! Europe is Oliver’s favorite country, so he’s especially excited! Stay Tech!”

Faces Of Death


12/11/2021    Matrix, Bochum (DE)
13/11/2021    Backstage Halle, Munich (DE)
14/11/2021    Slaughter Club, Milan (IT)
15/11/2021    KiFF, Aarau (CH)
16/11/2021    Die Stadtmitte, Karlsruhe (DE)
17/11/2021    Viper Room, Vienna (AT)
18/11/2021    Dürer Kert, Budapest (HU)
19/11/2021    Puschkin, Dresden (DE)
20/11/2021    Nova Chmelnice, Prague (CZ)
21/11/2021    U Bazyla    Poznan (PL)
22/11/2021    Béi Chéz Heinz    Hannover (DE)
23/11/2021    Hole44    Berlin (DE)
24/11/2021    Stengade    Copenhagen (DK)
25/11/2021    Logo    Hamburg (DE)
26/11/2021    De Klinker Club    Aarschot (BE)
27/11/2021    O2 Academy Islington    London (UK)
28/11/2021    Mama Roux’s    Birmingham (UK)
29/11/2021    Cathouse    Glasgow (UK)
30/11/2021    Thekla    Bristol (UK)
01/12/2021    Rebellion    Manchester (UK)
02/12/2021    The Loft    Southampton (UK)
03/12/2021    Gibus    Paris (FR)
04/12/2021    Doornroosje    Nijmegen (NL)

Relentless Mutation track list

  1. Involuntary Doppelgänger (3:46)
  2. Human Murmuration (4:13)
  3. Remote Tumour Seeker (4:01)
  4. Relentless Mutation (4:35)
  5. The Mimic Well (4:05)
  6. Calamus Will Animate (3:50)
  7. A Dark Horizontal (6:10)

Welcome to first class technical death metal madness. Machinegun vocals rattle remorselessly over a furious flurry of arpeggios, scales, and everything else that the two string wizards of ARCHSPIRE can pick at break-finger speed out their guitars. If this sounds hardly human at the level of technical execution, the Gatling-style hyper-drumming pushing these monstrous compositions forward is adding to the alien impression. It cannot even be a question that the Canadians have outdone themselves with their third full-length, Relentless Mutation.

This album is simply insane in a most excellent way. The level of musicianship that ARCHSPIRE offer, will leave even tech death fans drooling. Yet the outfit from Vancouver in British Columbia is bringing an important extra to the table, the rare ability to write great songs. Relentless Mutation is not just another compilation of outstanding musicianship, but the songs come with recognisable patterns that make sense in the greater conceptual framework of the album. And a clever use of contrasts leaves moments of clarity for the listener to take a breath and get ready for the next assault.

ARCHSPIRE exploded onto the scene in the year 2009 – after an earlier prelude under the moniker DEFENESTRATED. The band grew out of the rich Canadian scene for technical extremes that includes illustrious names such as GORGUTS or BEYOND CREATION. Yet ARCHSPIRE set out to take the sound to the next level from the start as their debut album All Shall Align (2011) made clear, which immediately received critical comparison with the scene’s spearheads like OBSCURA.

The band developed a lyrical concept revolving around a dystopian science fiction universe, which was expanded on their sophomore full-length, The Lucid Collective (2014) that witnessed ARCHSPIRE gaining widespread international recognition as one of the hottest names within the tech death community and beyond.

With Relentless Mutation, the Canadians are pushing the limits of their genre even further than before on all levels. ARCHSPIRE come crushing like a whirlwind to free ears and minds from pre-conceived notions about technical death metal. Time to leave your shelter and face the tempest. This is the future.

The cover of Relentless Mutation has been painted by renowned artist Eliran Kantor already well-known in the metal world for his works for TESTAMENT, ATHEIST, and HATE ETERNAL among others.

Dean Lamb: guitar
Spencer Prewett: drums
Oliver Rae Aleron: vocals
Tobi Morelli: guitar
Jared Smith: bass