April 23, 2023
Photo: Lori Linstruth.

Arjen Lucassen’s Supersonic Revolution have revealed the official video for Golden Age of Music taken from their spectacular debut album of the same name. The album will be released on 19 May via Music Theories Recording/Mascot Label Group. You can watch the video below.

The album will be available on various formats; 2LP Transparent Blue, 2LP Pink Marble, 2LP Purple Marble, 2LP Yellow Marble, CD, Digitally and Artbook. You can pre-order it from the link below.

Talking about the song Lucassen says, “For me the ’70s were the Golden Age of music. But that’s purely personal! If I had been born 10 years later, I guess it could have been the ’80s. Anyway, in these lyrics I describe how I used to lie in bed under the blankets and secretly listen to pirate radio stations like Radio Caroline on a little transistor radio. Those pirate stations played all kinds of weird underground music, and I Ioved it! I also loved 1970s fashion, with the colourful shirts and bell bottom jeans. And of course, I watched all the wrong TV series, like Charlie’s Angels with the lovely Farrah Fawcett! Daisy D is of course Daisy Duke from the somewhat questionable series Dukes of Hazzard. The name dropping becomes quite obvious in the 2nd verse, where references are made to T Rex, Rainbow, Pink Floyd, Deep Purple, Alice Cooper and Thin Lizzy. And of course, Jaycee loved singing the line “JC’s a superstar!” (Even though I obviously had another JC in mind).”

You think you know Arjen Lucassen? Towering Dutch prog rock polymath? The man behind the super successful prog rock conceptualists Ayreon? Not to mention his prog metal of Star One and Guilt Machine? Enormous overarching concept albums about space and time, packed to the hilt with special guests that read like a who’s who of modern-day progressive rock? Arjen Lucassen? Well, think again…

Supersonic Revolution, the band behind Golden Age Of Music, is simply five men: Arjen on bass, long-standing keyboard player Joost van den Broek, guitarist Timo Somers, drummer Koen Herfst and singer Jaycee. Five men rocking out and having one hell of a time doing it.

The whole project grew from a request to provide a track for a cover CD for the German music magazine Eclipsed. A seed was sewn in Lucassen‘s min and the end result is 11 tracks of high energy, progressively inclined heavy rock that swings with the kind of groove Deep Purple rocked with in the early to mid-1970s. “This album is not a typical prog album. It’s not Yes or Genesis. But it’s not a metal album either. There’s a track called Burn it Down,” Lucassen notes, “it’s totally based on Smoke On The Water but written from the perspective of the ‘stupid with a flare gun’ mentioned in the original lyrics. They have previously revealed the song SR Prelude & The Glamattack.

The album also features covers of some legendary songs given the Arjen Lucassen treatment as bonus tracks: T-Rex‘s Children of the Revolution, ZZ Top‘s Heard It On The X, Earth Wind and Fire‘s Fantasy and Roger Glover‘s Love Is All.

Golden Age of Music

  1. SR Prelude
  2. The Glamattack
  3. Golden Age Of Music
  4. The Rise Of The Starman
  5. Burn It Down
  6. Odyssey
  7. They Took Us By Storm
  8. Golden Boy
  9. Holy Holy Ground
  10. Fight Of The Century
  11. Came To Mock, Stayed To Rock
  12. Children Of The Revolution (Bonus Track)
  13. Heard It On The X (Bonus Track)
  14. Fantasy (Bonus Track)
  15. Love Is All (Bonus Track)

Arjen Lucassen online:

Official Website