October 24, 2020

Atlas is a relatively new British melodic rock band from Manchester and has already released an EP in 2017 and the full debut In Pursuit Of Memory in 2018. This means that Parallel Love is that important second album and the band have spent a lot of time in the studio making sure that it is right.

The band has seen a couple of changes since the debut and now have a line-up of up consists of Craig Wells on vocals, Howie Little on guitar, James Thorley on keyboards, Chris Redfearn on bass and Ryan Briggs on drums. Melodic and AOR bands all start from the same basic template and Atlas tick all the right boxes in terms of songs with great melody, plenty of hooks and vocal harmonies with swathes of lush keyboards adding that overriding orchestral backing. The guitar is smooth and controlled with copious riffs in the background and then a change of gear and the lead break busts out magnificently. The songs are the usual mixture of burning rockers and emotional ballads and if you are into Toto, the aforementioned Journey, H.E.A.T., Vega and Lionheart then there is much here to enjoy. I have to admit that the vocals are an acquired taste being just a little too strident and possibly a little too forced and it is almost as if Craig Wells is just a little out of synchronisation with the band.

All in all, Parallel Love is a reasonable second album but there is still a long way to go in the bands development.

Parallel Love track list

  1. The Fever (4:33)
  2. Without You (4:35)
  3. In Your Head (3:38)
  4. Weathered Heart (3:35)
  5. Human Touch (3:59)
  6. Dare To Love (4:41)
  7. Falling Out Of Love (3:52)
  8. Early Warning (4:45)
  9. We Are The Fire (6:02)
  10. Beyond The Limit (5:54)
  11. Here With You (4:04)