October 31, 2023

The heavy metal ‘n’ roll, dark, madcap visionaries collectively known as AVATAR, are releasing a limited edition Halloween-inspired collector’s vinyl version of their latest album Dance Devil Dance, out now. Only 250 numbered and hand-crafted copies of the blood-filled ‘Afterbirth’ vinyl will be produced. 

The packaging will include an additional standard red opaque vinyl; a 2-pocket silver board gatefold; 24-page photo book; and an autographed 5×7 post card. The vinyl will be exclusive for purchase to Avatar Country Citizens on Halloween (31st October). Any remaining pieces will be available for purchase for everyone on the band’s website starting on Friday 3rd November.

Photo Credit: Johan Carlén

“Your first birth was on the house; those are the cards you’re forced to play,” says frontman Johannes Eckerström. “Until today. You can be reborn every single night. Evolve. We feed your ear through an umbilical cord. We are the placenta. Your mind rests inside a soft womb of sound. Then, there is light. Escape. Open your eyes. This is the first night of the rest of your life. We are still in you.”

Dance Devil Dance

  1. Dance Devil Dance
  2. Chimp Mosh Pit
  3. Valley Of Disease
  4. On The Beach
  5. Do You Feel In Control
  6. Gotta Wanna Riot
  7. The Dirt I’m Buried In
  8. Clouds Dipped In Chrome
  9. Hazmat Suit
  10. Train
  11. Violence No Matter What (Ft. Lzzy Hale)

2023 has been quite a year for AVATAR. They achieved their first #1 single The Dirt I’m Buried In, and were recently immortalised as a fossil from Southern Sweden; discovered by Dr. Ben Thuy, a​​ paleontologist at the Luxembourg Natural History Museum. This fossil is now known as Ophiocoma avatar. The name Ophiocoma avatar, is valid for eternity. AVATAR are now a part of the Earth’s history, of the palaeontological heritage of Sweden, and has gained a small piece of immortality.

Band Members:
Johannes Eckerström – vocals
Jonas Jarlsby – guitars
Tim Öhrström – guitars
Henrik Sandelin – bass
John Alfredsson – drums

AVATAR online:

Official Website