December 22, 2021

Bangkok Dollars is a hard rock band from Finland with Lost Souls being the band’s second release following on from 2019’s debut Roses N’ Ravens. It is very much an old school metal band but with an element of grunge and also that special blues groove to give the music fluidity and depth. They seem to specialise in a mean, sprawling metal with a sound incorporating a number of bands including the likes of Primus, Zeppelin, Sabbath and Doomsday Outlaw. The band comprises Tino Veijalainen on vocals, Janne Savolainen on guitar and vocals. Max Salkovuo on bass and vocals and Mikko Salminen on drums with the music being very much guitar driven with Savolainen proving to be most adept with his industrious riffing, long, fluid solos and a great use of the fuzz box.

The musicians are excellent and I imagine that in a small and intimate live setting they are sensational as this is rock music that demands to be heard both live and loud. The songs are well written and perfectly compiled so there is variety in the album but all based around the bluesy riffing rock that delights so much. Indeed, there is something in this album for everyone and I’m sure all will have a personal favourite whether it is the Sabbath/Dio Heaven And Hell inspired Metal To Rust which pays homage to all things heavy metal or the more progressive metal inspired Stout. It’s fair to say that vocalist Tino Veijalainen is no Robert Plant or David Coverdale but his gritty and urgent vocals truly work with the band and the back to basic style that they play so well. Lost Souls is a pretty neat album from a hard working band with a collection of great songs and the skills to bring them fully to life and if you like lots of guitar but without excesses in delivery then you’ll find much here to admire.

Lost Souls

  1. Free (5:09)
  2. Only Devil Knows (4:12)
  3. Heat Of The Night (4:05)
  4. Lost Souls (4:51)
  5. Metal To Rust (4:28)
  6. Stout (4:45)
  7. Mugshot (3:38)
  8. Wild Ride (4:00)
  9. Save Your Prayers (4:07)
  10. Fighters (4:34)