January 12, 2022

Barnabas Sky is a new project put together by Markus Pfeffer the German guitarist, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist probably best known for the bands Lazarus Dream and Winterland.

It seems that Pfeffer has wanted to do this project for a while which is a rock album based around the singers and music that have been inspiration to him throughout his career. He has actually put together a very strong cast of vocalists in Jesse Damon (Silent Rage), Steve Grimmett (Grim Reaper, Lionsheart), Danny Martinez Jr. (Guild Of Ages), Rob Rock (Impellitteri, Axel Rudi Pell), Zak Stevens (Savatage), singer and musician Paul Sabu and Danny Vaughn (Tyketto), surely a list to excite any rock fan! Once he had the musicians on board then he could bring in the musicians with Thomas Nitschke on keyboards, Michael Weickenmeyer on piano, Thomas Rieder on drums and Bernd Schreiber on bass with Pfeffer on guitar. Where Markus Pfeffer has been really clever is to write the songs particularly with the singer in mind so they are singing material very much in line what they do with their own bands which is really important as it makes the music more relevant and listenable as all of the singers are operating within their usual zones as each one has his own personal style and delivery traits.

Pfeffer has primarily written a hard but melodic rock album full of epic anthemic stadium rockers with a couple of power ballads as well but mainly hard rock with lots of hooks, vocal harmonies and melody all designed to bring the best out of the singers and with a backing team of musicians who are totally on their game. Also, they all specifically know that they are there to provide the framework whilst leaving all of the fireworks to the singers. The keyboards and piano work is quite breath taking and Pfeffer provides plenty of riffs and some great guitar breaks and all combine to make a very cohesive and fluid rock album. The singers are shown below in the track listing and the running order has been put together very well to make a seamless and easily listened to album from a team of truly remarkable singers.

If you like the music of the singers with their day bands including Savatage, Grim Reaper and Tyketto then you will definitely enjoy this album from a great team of quality musicians and all are having a great time too which reflects in the quality of the performances.


  1. Legends Rise (feat. Danny Vaughan) (6:47)
  2. What Lies Beneath (feat. Zak Stevens) (6:17)
  3. In My Mind (feat. Danny Martinez) (4:09)
  4. Yesterday’s Gone (feat. Rob Rock) (5:29)
  5. Till The End Of Time (feat. Jesse Damon and Paul Sabu) (4:57)
  6. Say Farewell To Darker Days (feat. Danny Vaughan (6:18)
  7. Breathe Again (feat. Danny Martinez) (4:55)
  8. The Alkonost (feat. Zak Stevens) (4:05)
  9. Timm’s Theme (Instrumental) (3:04)
  10. Youngblood (feat. Jesse Damon and Paul Sabu) (5:10)
  11. Never Enough (feat. Steve Grimmett) (4:26)
  12. Till The End Of Time (Piano Version) (4:51)