October 16, 2020

Today marks the release of Scriptures ,the 8th studio recording from Death Metal Pioneers BENEDICTION from Birmingham, UK. This is the first new album since 2008  (produced by Scott Atkins at Grindstone Studio in England) and is available to stream or purchase on the links below.

To celebrate the release the band has dropped a new video for the opening track Iterations Of I – check the video below.

Darren Brookes gives some insights about the track: “The last song Dave Ingram featured on in Benediction was ‘I’. That was the last song on Grind Bastard. The first song on Scriptures is this one, Iterations of I and it’s a continuation of that song and therefore was put first on the new album. I guess it’s a bridge between the two eras of Benediction with Dave at the helm. Plus it’s a cracker to open with, it’s got all of Benediction`s trademark qualities in one song, from fast and brutal to slow and powerful.”

The video was shot in an abandoned factory building in the outskirts of Sheffield, in the North of England. Directed by Dan Hart / Light Engine Films.

The new album Scriptures sounds 100% like BENEDICTION: they blend death metal with a “fuck-off punk rock attitude”, heavy metal riffing and a groove that hardly any other band can capture. Dave Ingram‘s signature growl and powerful lyrics enhance the tonal framework that makes their sound so distinctly BENEDICTION. As usual the tracks vary from slow and heavy to fast and intense, from shorter, in your face rippers to crushing monoliths.

The artwork fits perfectly to BENEDICTION and awakens and will resonate with any devoted Old School Death Metal fan. It was created by Birmingham artist Simon Harris and is reminiscent of the iconic artwork of their early output. There’s no doubt that it will fit in perfectly to every vinyl collection next to Subconscious Terror, The Grand Leveler or Transcend The Rubicon.

All in all, Scriptures is an album of bare bones death metal, where everything is just as it should be. A jewel in the catalogue of a band that has been present from the very beginning and, in line with one of their most classic songs We Bow To None, has always remained true to themselves and their fans. 
BENEDICTION are BACK! And they are better than EVER!

Scriptures track list

  1. Iterations Of I
  2. Scriptures In Scarlet
  3. The Crooked Man
  4. Stormcrow
  5. Progenitors Of A New Paradigm
  6. Rabid Carnality
  7.  In Our Hands, The Scars
  8. Tear Off These Wings
  9. Embrace The Kill
  10. Neverwhen
  11. The Blight At The End
  12. We Are Legion


Darren Brookes – guitar
Peter Rew – guitar
Dave Ingram – vocals
Dan Bate – bass
Giovanni Durst – drums