June 21, 2021

UK melodic rock quartet Blood Red Saints have returned to the Frontiers label for the forthcoming release of their fourth studio album, Undisputed. Musically, the album is a return to the sound of the band’s debut, Speedway, which was released via Frontiers in late 2015 to much acclaim.

The first single issued from the new record is Heaven In The Headlights, of which vocalist Pete Godfrey says: “it is the song that defined the direction of the album. We wrote it and knew we had the first single. It’s us trying to bring a feel good vibe to a world that is in need of a little fun.” In regard to the album as a whole, he adds that “Undisputed is Blood Red Saints doing what we do best and we could not be more proud of it.”

Written during the Covid-19 pandemic, the recording of Undisputed took place at the home studio of guitarist Lee Revill. “We didn’t set out to write a certain type of record, but brought ideas to the table that happened to be melodic. As we lived through the process and are now able to reflect on these songs, this feels like it is shaping up to be our strongest album to date,” he states.

As for its title, Godfrey explains that “Undisputed is the idea behind the artwork being boxing themed, but it is not a concept album as such. However, we loved the analogy of the music industry being a fight to get your music heard, to get it out there and to fight back against the people who want to knock you down. We are back and we’re coming for you!”

Blood Red Saints were formed at the end of 2014 by Godfrey and bassist Rob Naylor (from the band Angels or Kings). They swiftly set about writing their debut album, while their search for a name resulted in the chance discovery of the semi-legendary speedway team ‘The Blood Red Saints‘, who were formed in Brooklyn, New York in the late 1920’s. Their leader ‘Freddie Rendetti‘ became synonymous with the team and was a fiery, colourful character who ultimately lived the fast life a little too fast. The band loved the name and ran with it.

James Martin of VEGA was instrumental in getting the band signed to Frontiers for the release of their debut, with James and his bandmate (and twin brother) Tom co-writing two of its songs and Harry Hess of Harem Scarem on mastering duties. It was an impressive slice of classic British AOR, following in the traditions of early Dare, FM and Newman. BRS then went on to record the well-received Love Hate Conspiracies and Pulse for the AOR Heaven label before returning to Frontiers for Undisputed.

Undisputed track list

  1. This Ain’t A Love Song
  2. Love Like War
  3. Heaven In The Headlights
  4. Breathe Again
  5. Caught In The Wreckage
  6. Karma
  7. Come Alive
  8. Alibi
  9. Undisputed
  10. Complete
  11. All I Wanna Do

Pete Godfrey – vocals
Lee Revill – guitars
Rob Naylor – bass
Andy Chemney – drums