June 1, 2021

Stalwarts of the power metal scene, Sweden’s Bloodbound has unleashed album number ten in typical fashion for their adoring fans and, as could only be expected, it is another in your face and totally over the top power metal delight as the band again indulges in epic and hard hitting songs that sum up hard rock and power metal perfectly. This is not a band likely to unleash some previously unheard blues classic or sci-fi concept work as they specialise and delight in metal forged in the bowels of hell and delivered direct to your brain with the force of a jackhammer and we simply love it. 

Formed in 2004 by Fredrik Bergh and Tomas Olsson they hit on a winning formula very early in their career which has served them well on each of their ten storming albums of intense and very hard hitting metal. Each album has seen the group embellish its reputation as a band that can deliver in the studio and on stage and now has a back catalogue of real value and worth. Of course, they have experimented with the sound and flirted with melodic metal, power and symphonic metal but, for the main part, they have found greatest success with epic mythological metal that the Nordic and Scandinavian bands do so well. There has been a number of changes over the years but the band line-up has been stable for the last 5 or 6 years with Patrik J. Selleby on vocals, Tomas Olsson and Henrik Olsson on guitars, Anders Broman on bass, Fredrik Bergh on keyboards and Daniel Sjögren on drums and they have a real vibe and synchronicity between them which shows in the seamless way they all blend together. Again, Selleby shows his class with his soaring and powerful vocals which call to mind Halford and Dickinson so he is obviously a major force and a vocalist to relish. Being power metal they simply have to have twin guitars and the Olsson’s continue to thrill with their take no prisoners approach to riffing and soloing with the keyboards adding that essential and vital symphonic touch that helps to make the music just so epic. The songs are direct and immediate with a real sense of melody behind the power so that they almost immediately sound like old and well trusted friends. The material is real kick ass and delivered fast and direct but is melodic and catchy with not even a hint of a ballad to slow down the relentless onslaught.

If you are a fan then you will already know that Bloodbound supply quality metal very much in Helloween, Priest and Freedom Call territory and Creatures Of The Dark Realm is a continuation of what the band does so well and we wouldn’t want it any other way. You can always rely on this quality German power metal band to supply an intense and thoroughly uplifting power metal experience and they have done so again which should come as a surprise to no one. This is yet another essential album for your metal collection but you already knew that, didn’t you?

Creatures Of The Dark Realm track list

  1. The Creatures Preludium (0:33)
  2. Creatures Of The Dark Realm (4:08)
  3. When Fate Is Calling (4:17)
  4. Ever Burning Flame (4:00)
  5. Eyes Come Alive (3:38)
  6. Death Will Lead The Way (3:52)
  7. Gathering Of Souls (4:14)
  8. Kill Or Be Killed (3:50)
  9. The Gargoyles Gate (4:22)
  10. March Into War (4:47)
  11. Face Of Evil (3:31)
  12. The Wicked And The Weak (3:52)