July 7, 2020

Ignite The Sky is the second album to be released by Bloody Heels, a most energetic hard rock band from Latvia. The band formed in Riga in 2012 and so far has released the Summer Nights EP in 2014 and their debut album, Through Mystery, in 2017 both of which marked the band as one to watch. Ignite The Sky continues where Through Mystery finished off, and the band revels in its highly infectious rock music which combines metal with the bump and grind swagger of Glam/Sleaze. The album is riff heavy in the same way that The Rolling Stones and Aerosmith are, and for sure these bands appear to have been an influence, as are the likes of L.A. Guns and Motley Crüe. This is a band with a music based around the ’80s Glam metal vibe, but they have given it the urgency and frenetic approach of modern day metal to make for a freewheeling and uproarious sound that sweeps you along in a tide of hard rock euphoria.

As musicians, they have talent aplenty with Valts Berzins (Vicky White) being particularly amazing, with his powerful voice that reminds a little of the blues infused vocals of David Coverdale. Haralds Avotins (Harry Rivers) is revelatory on guitar with huge, monolithic riffs combined with searing leads that are as good as any you will ever hear, and he gets superb backing from the bass of Gunars Narbuts (Gunn Everett) and drums of Gustavs Vanags (Gus Hawk). Together, they build a true wall of sound that should be measured on the Richter scale rather than in decibels! They can tone it down too and there is a measure of grace with guest Cello on Silhouette courtesy of Erna Daugaviete and Saxophone on Healing Waters from Dagnis Rozins. The songs all have a touch of class and are irresistibly upbeat and designed to get you up and off your feet. Great harmonies and hooks, a killer vocalist and a guitarist destined for greatness, Ignite The Sky has it all – and Bloody Heels is a band guaranteed to make waves for many years to come.

Track List:
Ignite The Sky (3:56)
Criminal Masterminds (3:39)
No Matter (3:19)
Sugar & Spice (3:16)
Farewell To Yesterday (3:51)
Black Swan (6:20)
Stand Your Ground (3:47)
Thin Line (4:15)
Silhouette (5:33)
Healing Waters (4:02)
Streets Of Misery (3:09)