November 2, 2020

Brother Firetribe is a sophisticated and smooth melodic rock band from Helsinki in Finland with Feel The Burn being the bands fifth album to date. The band was formed in 2002 with Nightwish’s Emppu Vuorinen being one of the founders and he has stayed with the band until this year but has now had to step down due to lack of time because of his commitments to Nightwish.

They now line-up with the three original members of Pekka Ansio Heino on vocals, Jason Flinck on bass and backing vocals and Tomppa Nikulainen on keyboards. Drums are courtesy of Hannes Pirilminorä (he replaced Kalle Torniainen in 2014) and the newest recruit and replacement for Vuorinen on guitar is Roope Riihijärvi.

Feel The Burn follows on from the earlier releases and shows a band totally in command and most comfortable with its version of superior melodic rock with a little hard edge. Pekka Ansio Heino is another of those immense Scandinavian singers with an incredible set of lungs and he really can crank up the power to the maximum and his English delivery is simply perfect. The band pretty much follows the standard AOR template with instantly hitting songs that are full of hooks, sing along choruses and wonderful vocal harmonies. Over this, Roope Riihijärvi immediately cements his place with thrilling guitar runs that are smooth and silk like and, again, the keyboards are luxurious and provide that orchestral backdrop that helps to give melodic rock that extra richness that makes so much difference

Brother Firetribe has returned with another hugely enjoyable and class filled AOR album that shows great maturity and some stunning individual performances which ensures that the album very quickly feels like an old friend. Of course, it is in Journey territory which is to be expected so will appeal to all melodic rock fans everywhere but especially those with a leaning towards bands such as Europe, W.E.T. and Perfect Plan but also like something with a slightly harder edge to it such as we see in Treat.

Feel The Burn is a quality rock album from a great AOR Finnish band and one that should definitely be on your play list.

Feel The Burn track list

  1. I Salute You (4:48)
  2.  Arianne (3:58)
  3. Night Drive (4:00)
  4. Chariot Of Fire (4:16)
  5. Bring On The Rain (3:09)
  6. Love Is A Beautiful Lie (4:31)
  7. Ticking Away (3:58)
  8. Battle Ground (3:50)
  9. Candle In The Window (4:27)
  10.  Rock In The City (3:35)