November 8, 2022

This is the second album by English band Cabin Boy Jumped Ship following on from 2019’s The Heartless and is something of a perfect storm for me. It seems that the band plays its own brand of rock being a combination of electro and metal into a new form that they call ‘Electronicore’ which is something entirely new to me. I must admit that I had them pegged as a sort of complex post-rock/math rock hybrid with a style and approach something similar to fellow English band Seething Akira and bands like Dillinger Escape Plan.

The band comprises Conor Peek on vocals, Abel Aguado on guitar, Jayke Davenport on bass and Reece Miller on drums and vocals. They are another band that mixes clean and dark vocals with, I’m assuming, Peek supplying the clean voice which is beautifully sonorous, clear and sweet with Miller offering up copious dark growls, grunts and screams. Occasionally, the vocals slip into rap territory which I can live with but, for me, the dark vocals are far too contrasting and are so much at odds with everything else that is happening.

Basically, this is a technical but melodic rock album heavy on riffs with an electro core which comes through in the beat making this an album and a band designed to drive the mosh pit into a frenzy. However, when they stay with just Peek on vocals then they become something quite wonderful which can be seen on the exquisite and haunting track Suffering. The guttural vocals give the impression that this is a darker album than it really is but the band is making waves and winning friends worldwide which proves they know what they are doing and there is an audience out there for this new form of rock.


  1. Sentiments (0:34)
  2. Demons (3:55)
  3. War (4:42)
  4. Golden (4:42)
  5. Ghosts (4:12)
  6. Deluded (4:23)
  7. Suffering (4:14)
  8. Cure (3:29)
  9. Low (4:12)
  10. Survivor (3:39)
  11. Smile (4:42)