September 3, 2023

Merciless, yet melodic thrash metal packed with intense female screams: HYPERIA is a Canadian powerhouse that portrays the insanity of the world in their fast-riffed songs. The old-school quartet delivers groovy terror melodies which invite heavy headbanging.

It’s finally time for the band to break radio silence and announce their upcoming new album The Serpent’s Cycle for November 17th. Dealing with the deep psychology of the human ego and narcissism as well as the severe consequences of our social structures, it still manages to show lightheartedness with two tracks about the joys of booze and partying – including a glorious cover of the HEART hit Crazy On You! Fans of early Bay Area thrash and neoclassical guitar melodies will love the band’s sound. Especially Colin Ryley’s guitar leads and brilliant solos show the power to carry you through a record that holds some of the fastest and most aggressive songs HYPERIA has written to this day. The band pushed their limits, as they state: “It consists of everything HYPERIA stands for – shred, speed, and intricacy.”

While their album The Serpent’s Cycle can now be pre-saved, the band has just released the single Prophet Of Deceit as an appetizer. The song is a hard hitting technical track, full of energy throughout. It’s also a big fuck off to those who spread false rumors and people who thrive off belittling others. Prophet Of Deceit is now available on all relevant streaming platforms. Make sure to check out the lyric video below.

The Serpent’s Cycle

  1. Ego Trip
  2. Automatic Thrash Machine
  3. Prophet Of Deceit
  4. Psychosomatic
  5. The Serpent’s Cycle
  6. Trapped In Time
  7. Spirit Bandit
  8. Eye for an Eye
  9. Binge & Surge
  10. Deathbringer
  11. Crazy On You (Heart Cover)


With their first EP Fish Creek Frenzy, the Canadians showed that old-school thrash can definitely be revived and renewed. Insanitorium (2020), their following debut album, convinced listeners with technical skill. Singer Marlee Ryley performed in an outstanding manner, her vocals reminded of shouters like Kyle Thomas of the 90s thrash formation Exhorder. And the creativity of HYPERIA didn’t stop there – the band released Silhouettes of Horror as their second full-length in March 2022. Constantly improving their sound and songwriting, the band created a menacing soundwall with this record. Oscillating between topics such as sleep paralysis, horror stories and mental health, aggression and madness jumped out of this music and abducted listeners into a world like an asylum. The four thrashheads even included an ABBA cover in a fancy metal version. Success showed quickly – the album was among the ‘Top 10 Best Thrash Metal Albums of the Year’ in Metal Hammer 2022. HYPERIA are ready to release their next banger The Serpent’s Cycle in November 2023.

HYPERIA online: