November 22, 2020

Cormac Neeson is the vocalist with blues infused hard rock band The Answer from Northern Ireland.

Neeson released his White Feather debut solo album in 2018 but it seems only to have received only a limited release and it has now been re-issued in expanded format. The plan was for this release to be backed up by a 14 date UK tour of the UK and Ireland but this has obviously had to be cancelled due to the Covid epidemic so he now has several on-line gigs planned to fill the gap. The album reached number 5 in the UK Country charts which seems a tad strange for what I would have assumed would have been a rock album rather in the style of The Answer but, no, it seems that Cormac Neeson has taken the Nashville route. So, forget about blues, rock or metal as this is a bone fide country album which was actually recorded in Nashville and Neeson seems to have absorbed the Nashville vibe into his soul with this very special folk, roots, Americana album.

Neeson has made use of the huge talent pool in that city to help write and record much of the material and this has most certainly brought new ideas to his attention and this allows us to see a new and totally different side to the singer. The album was finished off in Ireland so there is a real touch of steel and grit to the album too which means that this is no twee affair but a trawl through the troubled and tangled psyche of Cormac Neeson, a man who has seen his fair share of tragedy and problems. The album is a vehicle for Neeson to tell his tales and these are all delivered with the maximum amount of intensity and emotion and there is a level of intensity and even intimacy about the album and it is almost as if he is singing or even talking to you and you alone. The six additional tracks include bonus songs, a radio edit and two new songs that will greatly appeal to his fans.

The production is impeccable and the musicians involved provide a sumptuous and lush backing over which Cormac Neeson weaves his tales of majesty and tragedy.

White Feather (Deluxe Edition) track list

  1. White Feather (3:48)
  2. Do Something Today (4:25)
  3.  Don’t Wait Up (3:17)
  4. Broken Wing (3:58)
  5. Sweet Gentle Love (3:50)
  6. Oh Son (3:01)
  7. Song That Lives Forever (3:11)
  8. Look Down on Me (3:34)
  9. Artefact (3:51)
  10. Home to Me (3:42)
  11. Everywhere but Here (Bonus Track) (3:54)
  12. What You Do To Me (Bonus Track) (3:16)
  13. Whole Again (Bonus Track) (3:30)
  14. Sometimes You Gotta Make A Change (New Recording) (3:32)
  15. Blue Beyond the Grey (New Recording) (3:57)
  16. Do Something Today (Radio Mix) (3:42)