April 16, 2023

The new bands just keep coming thick and fast with Cross Country Rider being the latest having been put together by the powerful team of Rob Lamothe (Riverdogs), James Harper (Fighting Friday) and Zander Lamothe (Logan Staats Band).

Some new projects seem to be exercises in going through the motions but there are also those vital works that simply have you open jawed in amazement and these simply stunning musicians have brought in a team of exceptional guests to complete what is a great blues infused old School rock album that calls to mind the early Whitesnake albums when the glorious duo of Bernie Marsden and Mickie Moody held sway, Peter Green in his pomp, the sumptuous tones of the Black Star Riders and a little of the thrilling country rock of the Outlaws. Together, they make for a heady brew with Rob Lamothe providing vocals and guitar with James Harper also on guitar and Zander Lamothe on drums with Lamothe having a rich and enticing voice with a delivery very similar to Tim Bowness of No-Man fame. Then add in the combined genius of artists like Mike Mangini (Dream Theater), Vivian Campbell (Def Leppard, Last In Line), dUG Pinnick (King’s X), Greg Chaisson (Badlands), Kfigg (Extreme) and many others too and you have an album suffused with quality and one that burns and smolders like any true blues rock album should and it is so damned hot that you really need a fire truck on standby!

In truth, this is one of those albums that you can rave about to all and sundry but it is only when you hear it that you suddenly realise that it is one of those rare albums that you need in your life and once heard then you will keep it forever close. It doesn’t matter if you are 16 or 80, there is something here for every rock fan and those especially into old-school rock with a blues swagger will be enthralled.

Buy it, play and love it, it really is that simple.

The New Truth

  1. Wild Child (feat Mike Mangini, Greg Chaisson & Jimmy Wallace) (4:48)
  2. So Fly (feat Greg Chaisson, Jim Hoke & Jimmy Wallace) (5:26)
  3. A Man With No Direction (feat dUg Pinnick & Jesse O’Brien) (2:59)
  4. Traces of the Truth (feat Greg Chaisson & Jimmy Wallace) (4:38)
  5. I Won’t Look Back (feat dUg Pinnick) (5:00)
  6. Rio Tularosa (feat Mike Mangini & dUg Pinnick) (3:18)
  7. Shine (feat Mike Mangini, Greg Chaisson & Jimmy Wallace) (3:36)
  8. Off the Rails (feat Rhonda Smith & Jimmy Wallace) (3:53)
  9. Long Gone (feat Kfigg, Greg Chaisson, Carl Ayotte & Jimmy Wallace) (3:51)
  10. Real Love (feat Mark Hill, Chad Cromwell & Jimmy Wallace) (4:38)
  11. Risen (feat Vivian Campbell & Rhonda Smith) (4:25)
  12. Everything Forgiven (feat Rhonda Smith & Jimmy Wallace) (4:01)
  13. My Goodness (feat Justine Fischer) (4:52)