July 30, 2022

Continuing on with the new project/band theme we now have Crossing Rubicon which sees the multi-instrumentalist and producer Cenk Eroglu (ex-Winger, Xcarnation) combining with singer John Bisaha of The Babys. Given the label then, no there should be no real surprises that Crossing Rubicon is a melodic/AOR band with a sound built on a frame very much inspired by the sounds of the 1980s but given a thoroughly modern makeover to ensure that today’s melodic rock audience knows that it is getting cutting edge rock with its roots firmly grounded in all things Toto, Mr. Mister and Cutting Crew.

The album is also very much a family affair with Cenk Eroglu supplying guitars, keyboards and backing vocals with his sons Efe also playing guitar and keyboards and Reis Ali on drums. I guess it must be so cool and a real buzz to have your two boys on stage with you and what a brilliant exercise in bonding it must be. John Bisaha is the voice of the band as well as the bassist and he too includes his family with Holly Bisaha and McKenna Bisaha also making guest contributions. Finally we have the accomplished Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson, ex-Mr. Mister), Reb Beach (Winger, Whitesnake) and Ray Coburn (Honeymoon Suite) amongst others also guesting on the album and giving it just that extra touch of class.

The record is pure and unadulterated ’80s AOR and a perfect exponent of what goes under the title of yacht rock there days and the band could easily be close cousins of Mr. Mister. The albums features plenty of tight and controlled vocal harmonies which are thrilling in themselves but add the rich luxury that the voice of John Bisaha brings and then you are in the presence of greatness. The guitar work is beautifully fluid and controlled which allows John Bisaha to claim centre stage and show just how good his voice is. The music is a perfect example of soft rock and the music simply oozes from your speakers as if it was pure honey with plenty of power ballads and anthemic stadium rockers which would have kept Crossing Rubicon forever on the radio and TV back in 1985. Yes, those days may have gone but we still have bands like Crossing Rubicon and artists like Cenk Eroglu and John Bisaha to fly the flag for lush and class filled melodic rock which means there will always be plenty of AOR to satisfy our needs.

Please check out this fine album and simply lay back, close your eyes and relish a team of master musicians at work and be amazed at the golden and honey filled delivery of John Bisaha which quite simply makes you go weak at the knees!

Perfect Storm

  1. Perfect Storm (3:33)
  2. Reason To Die (3:37)
  3. Scar (5:43), Too Late (5:15)
  4. On The Run (4:23)
  5. 100 Thousand Years (5:23)
  6. Never Again (5:51)
  7. Cry Me A River (5:16),
  8. Get Away (4:34)
  9. Crash & Burn (feat Holly Bisaha) (4:55)
  10. Time (Without You) (5:50).