May 26, 2021

Swedish rockers Cruzh are back with a long-awaited second album, Tropical Thunder, which features vocalist Alex Waghorn, who joined the band in 2019. Set for release on 6th August via Frontiers Music Srl, fans of melodic rock will be thrilled by the cavalcade of melodies, hooks and catchy songs on display.

“We wanted more edge, more attitude and simply more rock ‘n’ roll compared to our debut,” states guitarist Anton Joensson. “The songs on Tropical Thunder definitely give a truer picture of what Cruzh is all about. We’ve had time to get back to our roots and I’d say that the writing and recording process went smoothly, although I was sceptical prior to the mixing sessions, which had to be done Covid-safe. It meant that Alex could attend, as he lives in the same city as our producer, but the rest of us had to send mixes and comments back and forth. However, the end result turned out awesome and we made the best of the situation.”

Of the record’s first single, We Go Together, bassist Dennis Butabi Borg adds, “It’s a song about the past and the future. The lyrics are based on my growing up in a small village in southern Sweden and are about the carefree and exciting moments you had as a kid, when school breaks seemed so long that you thought they’d never end, and the only thing that mattered for the day was the adventures and escapades you experienced with your best buddies on a warm summer’s night. I’m talking about the feeling of invincibility and strength of never-ending friendship and I think the theme of the song merges perfectly with the music. Listen, and forget the sometimes troubled reality for a while. Take a trip down memory lane. This song is for all of you. It’s for all of us. We are forever. We Go Together.”

Cruzh was put together in 2013 after the demise of Swedish glam rock act TrashQueen, which featured both Joensson and Butabi Borg. Having released some well-received demos, including Hard To Get and the darker Aim For The Head, they signed to Frontiers in 2015 and released their self-titled debut the following year to rave reviews.

Tropical Thunder track list

  1. Tropical Thunder
  2.  We Go Together
  3. Turn Back Time
  4. Are You Ready?
  5. Cady
  6. New York Nights
  7. All You Need
  8. Line In The Sand
  9. Moonshine Bayou
  10. Paralyzed
  11. N.R.J.C.