November 8, 2021

Apparently, there are two French bands called Devoid with one being a thrash metal outfit formed in 2005 and the other being a progressive metal band formed around 2017 by the guitarist Shad Mae. What we have here is the prog metal band with Lonely Eye Movement being the band’s second album following on from Cup Of Tears which came out in 2017.

There does seem to have been a number of changes in personnel with many of those on the first album appearing only as guests but a number of the key players are still involved including the incredible vocals of the German musician Carsten ‘Lizard’ Schulz (Evidence One, Book of Reflections) and his combination with guitarists Shad Mae and Gwen Kerjan, keyboard player Jorris Guilbaud, bassist Geoffrey Shob Neau and drummer Benjamin Lesous is simply sensational.

Sometimes, French bands have a very esoteric sound and delight in supplying challenging music but Devoid are far more conventional with a sound that is a pleasing mixture of American and German progressive metal. The music is complex and contains many surprises which, being mainly a French team, surprises should actually be expected! Lots of wonderful vocal harmonies and a devastating performance from Schulz is all backed up by a level of guitar work that is off the scale and some of the best keyboards and piano work that you will ever hear in a progressive metal album that surely puts Jorris Guilbaud definitely in the genius camp. There is so much happening in the background that it takes a while for all of the intricacies to sink in but when they do you are completely blown away by a musical score that is monumental.

Devoid play wonderfully progressive metal with a dark edge and is probably best described as a cross between Evergrey and Dream Theater and then add that essential French flair for a work of genius and a brand of music that I would never tire of hearing. This is an unbelievably brilliant album from a band that is firing on every cylinder. Pure genius.

Lonely Eye Movement

  1. Lonely Eye Movement (4:08)
  2. Man Without Fear (5:33)
  3. Impostor (4:25), Destination Heaven (5:34)
  4. Waiting For The Storm (6:19)
  5. In The Absence Of Holiness (5:07)
  6. Mirror Maze (5:33)
  7. Hands Of Salvation (4:23)
  8. Stroboscope Life (3:44)
  9. Martial Hearts (7:12)
  10. Wood And Wind (4:06)