June 1, 2022

As far as I can gather, Division: Dark is a new industrial gothic rock band from Switzerland led by former Burning Witches Seraina Telli. They seem to be another of those bands that believe in mystery and intrigue as a means of promotion rather than information flow so there are no band photos or lists of musicians but some bands like the zero identity route so who am I to question their strategy although a little help would be nice.

However, Prophecy is a dark and portentous industrial rock album with elements of synth-wave and Gothic rock which makes for a very heady and intense sound. Lots of swirling keys and pounding drums and bass set the background sound over which a whole host of guests add their individual magic to the album. Telli has a great voice and there is an element of Nightwish about the band but they also stray into NDH – Neue Deutsche Hart – territory which makes the band rather different from many of the similar outfits out there and ensures that Prophecy has something so different to offer.

A full list of guests is shown below but you know that something is going in the right direction when you can entice the likes of Vicky Psarakis (The Agonist), Anneke van Giersbergen, Lex (Megaherz), Chris Pohl (Blutengel), Anna Murphy (Eluveitie) and Frank Herzig (Schattenmann) plus so many others. Listening to the album is almost like taking a walk down the foggy Victorian streets of Whitechapel knowing that a certain spring-heeled maniac with a razor may just be lurking around the corner i.e. dark, foreboding, chilling and bleak but so thrilling, intense and vital.

If you are into NDH or dark Gothic rock then Prophecy is a must have album, buy and play as loud as possible for maximum effect.


  1. Eve (feat. Isra Ramos) (2:58)
  2. Stärker Als Gott (feat. Anna Lux & Eric Fish) (3:32)
  3. Twisted Game (feat. Vicky Psarakis) (3:46)
  4. Bevor Wir Wieder Asche Sind (feat. Lex) (3:38)
  5. (They’re All) Hypocrites (feat. Chris Pohl) (3:37
  6. Division: Dark (feat. Seeb) (4:06)
  7. Der Letzte Tanz (Dino Serci & Otto Dix) (3:01)
  8. Still Meinen Durst (feat. Frank Herzig / Schattenmann) (3:38)
  9. The Art In Artificial (feat. Scarlet Dorn) (3:28)
  10. Destination (feat. Steffi Stuber) (3:51)
  11. Promise (feat. Saeko & Seraina Telli) (3:54)
  12. Bound Together (feat. Anna Murphy) (3:13)
  13. Wrong (feat. Anneke van Giersbergen) (5:11)