October 26, 2020

Ekko Park is a bright and breezy indie rock band from Auckland, New Zealand with Horizons being the third album to be released following Tomorrow Tomorrow Today in 2015 and Know Hope in 2015 which both did well in New Zealand.

It seems that there have been changes within the band and now have a line-up of old stagers Joe Walsh on vocals and Nick Douch on guitar and the newbie’s in Alex Hargreaves on guitar and Bryan Bell on bass. The first track All Eyes On Me features guest vocals from Grant Nicholas of Welsh band Feeder so the bands reputation is obviously starting to spread.

Ekko Park is a band with a fine line in indie driven rock with elements of Snow Patrol, Killers, Kaiser Chiefs etc and they delight in bright and upbeat ‘jangly’ rock with a pop sensibility and all is very pleasant and jovial. The band leader seems to be the vocalist and Joe Walsh has a lovely voice and seems every bit as talented as the likes of Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith and George Ezra but is on the right side of ‘cheeky, cheery chap’ so should appeal to a more grown up and sophisticated audience too.

Horizon is a most pleasant, jovial and easy going pop/rock album and will surely get people asking who they are if you play it when you have guests around especially if they are keen on the Johnny Marr school of guitar playing. However, please remember to hide it away if you have any thrash or metalhead friends who may call in unannounced!

Horizon track list

  1. All Eyes On Me (2:47)
  2. Uh Ho (2:47)
  3. Bassano Sky (3:49)
  4. Go Stop Go (3:22)
  5. Go Stop Go (3:22)
  6. No Courage For Courage (4:00)
  7. Oil & Water (3:55)
  8. Three Days In March (A Letter To Mary) (4:47)
  9. Tea & Toast (3:45)
  10. Black Eyed (3:00)
  11. Cian (4:46)