October 15, 2023

The third single to be released in advance of The Blowback, her self-produced new album out next week, Silencer is described by US singer/songwriter/guitarist Emily Wolfe as “the most intense song on the record.” It also reaffirms the shift in direction she was aiming for with it, as she addresses meaningful, deeply emotional and political topics including abortion rights and sexual assault, with Silencer a prime example of her stand on these issues.

Photo: Jackie Lee Young

Musically, Silencer blends hard-hitting alternative and punk rock and is driven by Wolfe‘s impassioned vocal and a trademark engaging guitar riff. However, its lyric delves into the fallout for a victim of assault, with Wolfe explaining that “I felt a responsibility to write this song, like the weight of the world was on me to create it. This dude is never going to have any consequences other than his own internal shame, but that isn’t enough, so I was determined to sing it powerfully for the person that it’s for – the victim – and all the other people who have been affected by it.” 

Wolfe determined spirit also shines on songs such as the previously released singles Walk In My Shoes and Dead End Luck, while she states that the forthright album title “is because a lot of the songs are about not taking bullshit anymore. I guess I could say it more elegantly, but it’s how I feel. From global issues, national problems and interpersonal relationships, it’s a big middle finger to everything. This album is something I needed to do for myself. I’m really proud of it and it’s the most connected I’ve ever felt to a body of work.”

The Blowback will be promoted with a recently announced European tour as special guest of The Gaslight Anthem in March 2024. Confirmed dates are:

The Gaslight Anthem UK/EU tour 2024

  • 06.03.24  STOCKHOLM (SE) The Annex
  • 07.03.24  OSLO (NO) Sentrum Scene
  • 09.03.24  COPENHAGEN (DK) Gray Hall
  • 11.03.24  BERLIN (DE) Columbiahalle
  • 12.03.24  WIESBADEN (DE) Schlachtof
  • 14.03.24  BRUSSELS (BE) Ancienne Belgique
  • 15.03.24  COLOGNE (DE) Palladium
  • 16.03.24  UTRECHT (NL) Tivoli/Vredenburg Ronda
  • 18.03.24  GLASGOW (UK) Academy
  • 21.03.24  SHEFFIELD (UK) Academy
  • 22.03.24  MANCHESTER (UK) O2 Apollo
  • 23.03.24  WOLVERHAMPTON (UK) Civic Hall
  • 25.03.24  LONDON (UK) Roundhouse
  • 26.03.24  LONDON (UK) Roundhouse
  • 29.03.24  DUBLIN (IE) 3Olympia

Wolfe has earned acclaim from US publications that include The Wall Street Journal, Guitar Player and American Songwriter, as well as UK magazines such as Classic Rock, Blues Matters and Total Guitar. Recognised as a tour de force guitarist, she has worked with Epiphone/Gibson Guitars for two signature Sheraton models, including 2023s White Wolfe.

She has been developing and refining her hard-hitting style for almost a decade, with 2014’s Roulette EP followed by the single Atta Blues (2016) and a self-titled 2019 debut album that included early fan favourites such as Holy Roller. Its follow-up, Outlier (2021), was produced by Michael Shuman (Queens of the Stone Age, Mini Mansions) and attracted critical praise and copious airplay for its singles No Man and Something Better.

Photo: Jackie Lee Young

Inspired by the likes of Hole, Veruca Salt, Nirvana and Alanis Morissette, Wolfe envisaged a specific sound for what would become The Blowback, opting to self-produce her new album in order to properly realise it. “Producing the record myself is one of the most thrilling experiences I’ve ever had. I have learned so much from past producers like Michael Shuman and I was ready. For me, this whole chapter is about owning your spirit.”

Ultimately, The Blowback may also give listeners the strength they need to express themselves, as Wolfe concludes: “When you listen to this, I want you to feel empowered. If something harms or oppresses you, stand up against it. I’ve overcome a lot. I’m not afraid to display my feminine rage anymore – especially on stage. I’ve grown up spiritually, emotionally and mentally. I believe I have a lot to offer, and I’m ready for whatever comes next.”

The Blowback

  1. Silencer
  2. Dead End Luck
  3. Walk In My Shoes
  4. Predator
  5. Road To Ruin
  6. High Crime
  7. Rock Bottom On A High Wire
  8. Hopeless In Panorama
  9. Second Of Relief
  10. Can I Read Your Mind, Lover


Official Website