March 8, 2023

These two long-time collaborators – former Sound of Contact members Simon Collins and Kelly Nordstrom – met in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada in 2005 and have been working together ever since. Originally brought together to work on Simon’s solo career, the spark of creativity between Simon and Kelly was undeniable. They soon began writing original material together, much of which would end up on the Sound of Contact album Dimensionaut.

With a successful progressive rock album under their belts, Simon and Kelly were determined to continue the work they had started. During the UK production of Simon’s 4th solo album Becoming Human, Kelly recorded a demo of the song “eMolecule” in a flurry of inspiration. With this new offering, Simon and Kelly decided their way forward was as a duo and they would pool their best material under the name eMolecule

In the summer of 2020, eMolecule decided it was time to begin work on their debut album and that it was to be a concept album. Meeting in person at Simon’s studio in Ireland, the duo spent a solid month writing the concept and music start to finish. Over the following months, they completed writing, producing and performing The Architect both remotely and together in Ireland. 

The band remarks “The Architect reveals the sinister inner dialogue within the subject of our story. Conflict and anguish stemming from adolescence grind together like gears in his mind as he becomes the embodiment of avarice!” The pair have waited long and eagerly to be able to release this, their debut album, the creation of this concept album having been a vehicle for them to explore darkness, redemption and spiritual evolution through music.

The Architect features intense, heavy guitar and drum performances as well as deep, atmospheric and emotionally driven arrangements. For me, across the 68 minutes worth there’s definite touches of Steven Wilson’s work with Porcupine Tree here. From start to finish the band’s first offering draws the listener into their web with infectious vocals, dynamic guitars and a crisp modern production from the epic opening track eMolecule to the powerful climax of the closing track Moment of Truth. It’s Prog but not perhaps as you’ve heard it before? – with this album, eMolecule are set to take the listener into another Prog dimension!


1. eMolecule 10:43

2. The Architect 6:05

3. Prison Planet 4:58

4. Mastermind 8:39

5. Dosed 5:07

6. The Turn 5:56

7. Awaken 5:09

8. Beyond Belief 4:47

9. The Universal 6:03

10. My You 5:27

11. Moment of Truth 6:56

the band’s first creation…e-Molecule