September 30, 2022

Existence Depraved is a Finnish power metal band which was formed in 2018 by singer and guitarist Toni Tieaho and has released several singles and an EP in 2019 but this is now the band’s full debut release.

All the musicians are stalwarts of the Finnish metal scene with Tieaho supplying vocals, guitar and keyboards, Matti Auerkallio offers up guitar, backing vocals and synths, Kimmo Kulo is on bass and drums are courtesy of Timo Hanhijoki. They are a neat unit and play power metal with a touch of symphonic rock with both guitarists laying down a real wall of sound with extensive riffs and some great solos. They also offer up plenty of fine keyboards to accent the melody within the music which contributes to most of the symphonic moments too. All are backed perfectly by pounding drums and bass making the album a real musical delight with great songs and wonderous sonic passages.

However, I have an issue with the vocals as I feel the band have been unsure whether to fully pursue a dark melodic route or concentrate on straight forward power metal and so have lost their way a little as the music is wonderful but, sadly, the vocals less so. It is fair to say that Tieaho does not have the best voice in metal being deep, insistent and a touch gravelly without descending into growls and I feel that the music would have been served better by a clean soaring vocal. Auerkallio also supplies a deeper guttural backing vocals which is not really in keeping with the music. I’m sure other listeners perhaps more into death metal will enjoy the vocals much better than I have and that is fine as we all have different opinions. It’s just a pity as I found the music thrilling but feel it has just been let down by the vocals.

Dissonant Image

  1. Endless Loop (4:10)
  2. To Live Without Fear (5:48)
  3. Unwalked Path (6:23)
  4. Freezing Wind (5:21)
  5. Solitary Star (5:05)
  6. Mental Hunt (5:14)
  7. Blind Theories (5:54)
  8. Mindcrusher (5:30)
  9. The Outsider (4:42)