January 28, 2024

EXOCRINE have been turning heads with their philosophical bent on technical-death metal for more than a decade. But on their new album, the daring and deadly French architects spin razor-sharp riffs and precision blast beats into a truly legendary tale.   

Exocrine are locked and loaded on Legend. Eidolon fires off laser-guided riffs and a bass that grooves with all the flattening force of a tank. “I will rise and your ashes hollow!” the band shout in unison on “Life, as if charging into battle behind a hail of blast beats. 

But for all its metallic might, Legend flexes just as much brain power. Heck, the title track breaks down into a slithering trumpet interlude. “We wanted to create a more intimate atmosphere with this album”, says lead guitarist Sylvain Octor Perez. “The production is more organic and the tempos are calmer at times”.

Photo: Exocrine

The band took their time with this album, writing for well over the course of a year while sequestered at a house in the Bordeaux countryside. What they came up with reads more like a blockbuster film. Legend combines the most fantastical elements of Warhammer, Mad Max and Kaiju. The story follows the intersecting paths of three characters: a knight, a godlike destroyer and an immortal man. What unfolds between them is a Dante-like confrontation that tests just how much they’re willing to sacrifice in order to secure their place in the universe. 

“This is our most personal album”, Exocrine says. “We decided to go back to something more organic, with more relief, and tried different things in order to bring a stronger atmosphere and connect the music with the story. Legend has a good balance between technicality and lyrics, with each aspect serving the other”.


  1. Presage (1:26)
  2. Legend (3:55) [WATCH VIDEO]
  3. Life (3:56) [WATCH VIDEO]
  4. Eidolon (3:21) [WATCH VIDEO]
  5. The Altar Of War (4:36)
  6. Dust In The Naught (3:52)
  7. Warlock (3:25)
  8. Dragon (4:15)
  9. The Oath (3:46)
  10. By The Light Of The Pyre (6:19)
  11. Cryogenisation (Bonus Track) (4:49)

Born from the depths of Bordeaux, France, EXOCRINE is a technical death metal juggernaut, a force that has redefined the very essence of the genre. Founded by the guitar-virtuoso Sylvain Octor-Perez, alongside the formidable talents of Nicolas La Rosa and Jordy Besse, this trio embarked on their relentless journey in 2013, marking the inception of a musical saga that would leave an indelible mark on the world of extreme music.

Exocrine‘s debut album, Unreal Existence, unleashed in 2015, was nothing short of a revelation. It showcased the band’s audacious creativity, instantly distinguishing them within the technical death metal scene. With labyrinthine compositions, ferocious riffs, and relentless drumming, Exocrine‘s music delved into uncharted territories of sonic complexity.

In the years that followed, Exocrine solidified their signature sound, with albums such as Ascension in 2017 and Molten Giant in 2018, upon the latter release, Théo Gendron joined as a new member – forming the current-standing quartet of musicians. These releases cemented their reputation as pioneers of the genre, pushing the boundaries of what technical death metal could achieve. The band’s compositions are like sonic mazes, constantly evolving, keeping listeners captivated at every twist and turn.

Their 2022 release, The Hybrid Suns, was yet another testament to their musical prowess. It demonstrated their unyielding commitment to pushing the envelope and exploring new realms of technical complexity.

Now, as the anticipation reaches a fever pitch, Exocrine is poised to release their next full-length opus, Legend. This forthcoming masterpiece promises to be an epic chapter in their already storied career, destined to secure their place as legends within the hallowed halls of technical death metal.

Exocrine are architects of sonic transcendence, explorers of the uncharted, and pioneers of the unimaginable. With each release, they redefine the limits of technical death metal, and ‘Legend’ is poised to be their most audacious and groundbreaking endeavor yet, a true testament to their status as legends in the making.

Sylvain Octor Perez: Lead Guitars
Nicolas La Rosa: Guitars
Jordy Besse: Bass, Vocals
Theo Gendron: Drums

EXOCRINE online: