May 16, 2021

There was a time when there were only a few female fronted rock bands in the Goth and/or dark metal genre but these days it seems that almost every other new band is a dark Goth metal outfit. It was a genre that was a bit of a novelty at first in a world where male vocalists featured just about everywhere but the powerful performances from the forerunners truly made you take notice of the new and enticing bands such as Evanescence, Delain, Within Temptation and Nightwish. They truly broke the mould and opened the door for all the wannabees and the influx of all these new bands suddenly made what was initially left of centre into a fresh and seductive mainstream reality. Indeed, just try to imagine if Nightwish had never happened and I’m sure the rock scene would look so much different!

The new bands have certainly increased the quality as the increased competition has ensured that both the established groups and new entrants are continually seeking to improve on the look and sound that they have to offer. The Italian band False Memories is a new band on Frontiers with The Last Night Of Fall being the bands second album but first for their new label. Extolling all the virtues of Goth, doom and metal they sound like some gargantuan mixing of Nightwish and Within Temptation and have created an album to simply blow you away with its power and majesty.

The band was formed by the guitarist Francesco Savino in 2015 with the debut, Chimerical, coming out in 2018 with an updated version released later in the same year with the addition of a couple of songs from the new vocalist Rossella Moscatello. It’s rather strange as I listened to the first album and didn’t actually realise that it was a different singer as the outgoing Valentina Pucci does sound very similar to Moscatello and I’m guessing that many other listeners will be surprised too. There is no mention of why Pucci left the band but the fact that Moscatello shares all the writing duties on the new album with Savino suggests that he was looking for a song writing colleague as well as a singer, maybe! Gianluca Zaffino remains on bass with incoming drummer Emanuele Cossu replacing Giovanni Cattaneo and the tweaking of the line-up has continued with the addition of a second guitarist in Moreno Palmisano with Savino again playing keyboards and all programming alongside his mercurial guitar skills. The additional guitar gives this album a harder edge than the debut but there remains an overriding melodic sensibility to the music even when they do stray somewhat into progressive metal territory.

Last Night Of Fall is a fresh and instantly hitting Goth metal album with excellent performances all round but the stunning vocal work of Rossella Moscatello will surely receive all of the plaudits for her incredible power and range but all delivered with an hypnotic subtlety. The music is heavy when it needs to be but also gentle and restrained if called for too so this is music for all occasions and played to perfection. If you are a fan of Within Temptation, The Gathering and Delain then you now have a new and intense band to add to your wish list.

The Last Night Of Fall track list

  1. Black Shades (4:34)
  2. Rain Of Souls (4:33)
  3. Voices (4:50)
  4. Hysteria (4:41)
  5. The Illusionist (4:24)
  6. Erased (4:14)
  7. White Crows (4:37)
  8. Unfaithful Dream (4:33)
  9. Sea Of Nothingness (4:34)
  10. Deep Breath (3:18)
  11. Don’t Forget (4:41)