July 12, 2021

There is a lot of history behind Fang, an American proto-punk band that was formed in the early ’80s then moved to Great Britain before moving again and settling in Bremen, Germany where they engaged in frequent violent exchanges on the streets of Bremen with political parties of the far right and managed to record a few songs too.

Spun Helga features material from this time and this is the first time that it has been made available in the digital format so if you have been waiting a long time for this then now is the time to revel in some nostalgia! The songs all relate to event occurring at that time and are delivered with and anger and in your face attitude with the feel of an edgy Stray Cats meets The B-52’s. The band is operating today and still with Sam McBride aka Sammytown on vocals. Further releases are mooted for a band that was there at the beginning of the hardcore scene in Berkeley, CA. You get 8 songs for 20 minutes so they say what they have to say and then move on to the next topic with the minimum of fuss.

Spun Helga is interesting as a historical archive yet still retains its freshness and originality today so, I guess, the dirty politics of this world have not changed too much.

Spun Helga track list

  1. Tits And Oi (1:56)
  2. Tin Plated Iron Man (2:13)
  3. Dr. Eugene Scott (2:59)
  4. Tequila (2:38)
  5. Evil Runs Free (1:51)
  6. Fat Bitch (3:04)
  7. Honor Among Thieves (2:01)
  8. Madonna (2:34)