January 18, 2022

FireWölfe is a US melodic metal band from Vancouver, Washington which formed in 2010 with Conquer All Fear being the band’s third album to date. The self-titled debut came out in 2011 and caused a big stir with the follow up arriving three years later with the appropriately titled We Rock The Night hitting in 2014 with both showing a fine heavy and brash band with a delicious metal delivery and very much the epitome of US melodic metal. Unfortunately, the band has seen a few internal issues surface with a couple of the original members leaving before the second album was recorded and then there were fresh divisions afterwards which have helped to cause the seven year delay to the new album.

However, the band has now returned with a refreshed and somewhat revamped band and they are looking to make up for lost ground. The only original member now is Nick Layton on guitars with drummer Marco Bicca and bassist Bobby Ferkovich surviving from the line-up that recorded the second album with the remaining members all being new for this record with Michael David on guitar and Freddy Krumins on vocals. It is always a worry when a band changes the vocalist as the singer is as much the focal point if not more so than the guitarist (if you are a Blackmore or a Page) or keyboard player (if you are someone like Jon Lord or Rick Wakeman) and the real quandary is to replace like for like or go for a completely different sounding singer as Marillion did when Steve Hogarth took over from Fish. FireWölfe seems to have taken the middle route as Freddy Krumins has a similar voice and range to David Fefolt but his register is just a little deeper, dirtier and more powerful so he is an ideal replacement and then some. It truth, he has something of Bruce Dickinson about him and he truly would grace any rock band with his versatility and hard hitting approach.

If you are really into your US melodic metal then FireWölfe are sure to delight as this is pure and vital heavy metal that slams directly into your brain and gives an immediate hard rock fix. They know how to deliver short and brutal slabs of scorching metal and the Wages Of Sin trilogy also shows they can handle epics with aplomb so I can only conclude that this new version of FireWölfe is truly the definitive one. The band is a pleasing mix of Armored Saint, Accept and Saxon but 100% FireWölfe.

Buy, play, enjoy and the play again.

Conquer All Fear

  1. Vicious As The Viper (4:59)
  2. Pedal To Metal (3:31)
  3. Conquer All Fear (5:36)
  4. Swallow My Pride (4:06)
  5. Candle In The Dark (5:25)
  6. The Evil Eye Trilogy: Pt.1 – Wages Of Sin (4:20)
  7. Pt.2 – Black And Gold (4:24)
  8. Pt.3 – Keep The Hounds At Bay (4:25)
  9. Magic (In Your Mind) (4:17)
  10. Method To The Madness (3:58)
  11. Breakin’ Out (Bonus track CD only) (4:12)