March 28, 2022

Melodic rock giants FM have just released Thirteen, their appropriately entitled thirteenth studio album, to rave reviews. Self-produced, it is yet another high quality record that furthers the UK-based group’s standing as one of the leading melodic rock outfits in the world.

FM‘s current and longest running line-up has been in place since 2008. The rhythm section of bassist Merv Goldsworthy and drummer Pete Jupp anchor the band with a rock-solid backbone, while guitarist Jim Kirkpatrick delivers delicious hooks and melodies and keyboardist Jem Davis adds lush layers to their dynamic sound. And, what more can be said about singer Steve Overland? As Classic Rock magazine noted in their review of the new album, “his glorious voice is apparently immune to the passing of time.” Together, the quintet have gelled once again as a mighty force on Thirteen, delivering their distinctive brand of superlative melodic rock that fans have long come to expect.

The group commence a UK tour on 31st March before heading into mainland Europe in May. The full UK itinerary is as follows:

FM Thirteen UK tour 2022

  • 31.03.22  BARNSLEY Birdwell
  • 01.04.22  COTTINGHAM Civic Hall
  • 02.04.22  MANCHESTER Club Academy
  • 07.04.22  LONDON Islington Assembly Hall
  • 08.04.22  NUNEATON Queens Hall
  • 09.04.22  NORWICH Waterfront
  • 15.04.22  BOURNEMOUTH Madding Crowd
  • 16.04.22  SWANSEA Patti Pavilion
  • 17.04.22  NANTWICH Civic Hall
  • 22.04.22  NEWCASTLE University
  • 23.04.22  GLASGOW G2 Garage
  • 29.04.22  READING Sub89
  • 30.04.22  NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms
  • 01.05.22  DURHAM Northern Kin Festival


FM formed in 1984 when singer Steve Overland and his brother, guitarist Chris (both formerly of Wildlife), teamed up with drummer Pete Jupp (ex-Wildlife and Samson) and bassist Merv Goldsworthy (ex-Diamond Head and Samson). They were joined by Didge Digital on keyboards and by the end of the year had secured a record deal with CBS/Portrait and toured Germany with Meat Loaf.

Subsequent tours with Tina Turner, Foreigner and Gary Moore maintained their momentum and in September 1986 FM released their debut album Indiscreet (including the single Frozen Heart) to great acclaim, promoting it by supporting Bon Jovi on their Slippery When Wet tour.

The group consolidated their position at the forefront of British melodic rock for the next decade, performing extensively as headliners and also joining the likes of Status Quo and Whitesnake on tours to promote releases such as Tough It Out (1989), Takin’ It To The Streets (1991), with Andy Barnett replacing Chris Overland, Aphrodisiac (1992) and their ‘final’ album, Dead Man’s Shoes (1995), with new recruit Jem Davis (Tobruk, UFO) on keyboards.

Following a lengthy sabbatical, they returned in 2007 for a one-off headlining slot at Firefest IV held at Rock City in Nottingham. The rapturous reception they received led to a decision to make a new album and, after a return to Firefest two years later, 2010 saw the release of their much-anticipated sixth studio album, Metropolis, for which Jim Kirkpatrick replaced Andy Barnett on lead guitar.

The band haven’t stopped since! They have headlined tours in the UK and overseas, played special guest slots with Foreigner, Journey, Thin Lizzy, Heart, Saxon and Skid Row, made festival appearances at Download, Planet Rockstock, Sweden Rock, Graspop, Steelhouse, Frontiers Rock Festival and Ramblin’ Man Fair, plus performed their first-ever show in the USA at Melodic Rock Fest 5 in 2018.

Always active in the studio when not on the road, they have gone on to release  Rockville and Rockville 2 (both 2013), Heroes And Villains (2015) and Atomic Generation (2018), as well as Indiscreet 30 (a re-recorded version of their debut album, 2016), the live CD/DVD The Italian Job (2019), plus the live album Tough It Out Live (2021).


  1. Shaking The Tree
  2. Waiting On Love
  3. Talk Is Cheap
  4. Turn This Car Around
  5. Love And War
  6. Long Road Home
  7. Be Lucky
  8. Every Man Needs A Woman
  9. Just Got Started
  10. Fight Fire With Fire  
  11. Be True To Yourself

Photo: Tony Ayiotou

Steve Overland – vocals, guitar
Merv Goldsworthy – bass
Pete Jupp – drums
Jem Davis – keyboards
Jim Kirkpatrick – guitar

FM online:

Official Website