November 27, 2021

Prey Later is the second solo album from prolific former Prodigy/Pitchshifter guitar legend turned super-producer Jim Davies Music. With guest appearances from Electronic heavyweight Tut Tut Child and Bullet for My Valentine bass player Jamie Mathias, the album is an accomplished cataclysm of dirty beats, massive hooks and EDM stompers… Simultaneously cynical, sardonic and undoubtedly crushing, PREY LATER is the soundtrack to the chaos of now! 

Says Davies: “I’m hugely proud of this album, feels like I’ve found exactly where I want to be musically.. On my first solo album HEADWARS I covered quite a few styles as I’m into a wide range of music, but on PREY LATER I found myself naturally gravitating towards the more dirty industrial side, where I feel most at home!

It was great to collaborate with industrial legends Empirion on a few tracks, we first met back in 1995 when they were the main support to Prodigy on the first tour I ever did with them, so it’s cool to be working together after god know how many years!  It was also cool working with Bullet For My Valentine bass player Jamie Mathias on the track The Killing Way, his vocals were incredible.

Releasing the album through the cult Armalyte Industries label is something I’d been hoping to do for a while now; I feel their community of openminded music fans are going to be quite receptive to the album, as well as being a nice home for me moving forward.

Overall I think this album is a far more cohesive and honed collection of songs, with a few swerve balls thrown in here as always, I’ve enjoyed the whole process from start to finish so I’m very excited to get it out there and get cracking on the next one!”

Prey Later

  1. The Bar Is Low
  2. Facts And Figures
  3. V-Sign (feat. Tut Tut Child)
  4. Prey Later
  5. Wake Up>React (feat. Abbie Aisleen)
  6. Choose Your Poison (Empirion Mix)
  7. The Killing Way (feat. Jamie Mathias)
  8. Cash Is King
  9. Gravitate (feat. Abbie Aisleen)
  10. Almighty (feat. Connar Ridd)
  11. 2020
  12. Hit The Reset (Empirion Mix) 

Cover artwork by Vlad McNeally.

JIM DAVIES online:

Official Website