February 23, 2022

Better get yourself ready for the on-coming onslaught from Girish & The Chronicles which is most probably a name you have not heard before but I’m certain that these guys are soon going to be the only band we are all talking about. If you remember the buzz that happened when The Darkness hit it big time then I’m sure we are going to see something similar with this new sensation from India.

In many respects, we are already late for the party as this is the bands third album so there are already two monster albums out there that need checking on as well. The band was formed in 2009 in the city of Gangtok, the capital of the Sikkim region in Northeast India which is not a place I have come across but it has a population of 100,00 and is in the eastern Himalayan mountain range and looks stunningly beautiful. The band has now relocated to Bangalore in the southern state of Karnataka which they have obviously done to promote and develop their career further.

Hail he Heroes sees the band playing fast and exciting heavy metal with definite influences from the 80’s so you get some pretty intense NWOBJHM riffs allied with Def Leppard style harmonies, a little bit of the metal of Quiet Riot and a touch of Whitesnake at their most gargantuan. Indeed, vocalist and rhythm guitarist Girish Pradhan has a real sound of David Coverdale in his delivery and he truly thrills when screaming out those really high and sustained notes. Lead guitar comes from Suraz Sun and what a player he is too as he perfectly demonstrates when switching from searing lead to intricate and delicate moments and then laying down some truly killer riffs. Yogesh Pradhan plays bass and keyboards with Nagen Nags on drums all four musicians combine perfectly to make a truly tight and real rocking unit.

It seems that the band plays a pretty mean live show too and I cannot wait until they set foot on our shores as they are going to seriously kick some ass and win a lot of new friends in the process! They throw in a couple of ballads and they carry these off with aplomb with Girish Pradhan being truly awesome when the amps are turned down allowing him to show his full range and versatility. There is a little of the eastern and exotic in their sound too making them a very special band and one that is most definitely going places.

I’m off now to investigate the band’s first two albums and if you know what is good for you then you should check out this relatively new and exciting Indian rock band immediately.

Hail To The Heroes

  1. Primeval Desire (3:50)
  2. Children Of The Night (3:58)
  3. I’m Not The Devil (4:37)
  4. Love’s Damnation (4:29)
  5. Clearing The Blur (3:47)
  6. Lovers’ Train (4:15)
  7. Rock And Roll Jack (3:03)
  8. Hail To The Heroes (intro) (0:43)
  9. Hail To The Heroes (4:53)
  10. Shamans Of Time (5:43)
  11. Heaven’s Crying (6:06)
  12. Rock N’ Roll Fever (feat Chris Adler, Myrone, Rowan Robertson) (3:29)