June 29, 2023

Progressive rockers HAKEN are in the midst of a run of European summer festivals in support of their much acclaimed recent album ‘Fauna’, with the band recently performing at Download Festival, Z Rock, Loudfest & Graspop. 

Today the band are pleased to reveal that a new track titled ‘The Last Lullaby’ is now available on streaming services. Originally appearing as a bonus track on the Japanese edition of their latest album, ‘Fauna’, they have made this track widely available.

HAKEN are:
Ross Jennings
Richard Henshall
Charlie Griffiths
Pete Jones
Conner Green
Ray Hearne

The band commented of the track: “The Last Lullaby naturally follows on from Eyes of Ebony, being based on the main theme from the closing track on Fauna. Our keyboardist Pete was let loose with his production skills, chopping up stems, rearranging, and adding new layers, to create a track with bit of a different feel to the rest of the album, being closer to electronica than metal – but one we feel captures the emotive quality of the record and provides a fitting epilogue.”

Watch the bands recently released video for ‘Lovebite’ (filmed on their European headine tour), here: https://youtu.be/f5zU4aovRrA 

They band still have several more festivals this summer, including Midsummer, Radar, Tuska & Arctangent, as well as some select headline shows. Following that, the band will visit South America for several dates in September and October. Find the full list of dates here: https://hakenmusic.com/tour/ 

Order or stream the new album here: https://haken.lnk.to/Fauna

Watch the previously released videos below:….


‘The Alphabet of Me’:


The tracklisting is as follows:

1.     Taurus 04:49

2.     Nightingale 07:24

3.     The Alphabet of Me 05:33

4.     Sempiternal Beings 08:23

5.     Beneath The White Rainbow 06:45

6.     Island In The Clouds 05:45

7.     Lovebite 03:49

8.     Elephants Never Forget 11:07

9.     Eyes Of Ebony 08:32 


‘Fauna’ is available on several formats, including Ltd 2CD (incl. instrumentals), Standard CD, Gatefold 2LP & as Digital Album. The albums stunningly detailed artwork was created by Dan Goldsworthy (Charlie Griffiths, Sylosis)

‘Fauna’ sees the band exploring new ideas conceptually as Ross continues. “The premise of the album when we started writing it was that every song would have an animal assigned to it. They all have something related to the animal kingdom that we could write about, but they also connect to the human world. Each track has layers, and some of them are more obvious than others.”

“It reminds me of The Mountain,” adds guitarist and fellow founder Richard Henshall. “There, we had the idea of not really a narrative-based album, but more the concept of climbing a mountain and overcoming the obstacles along the way. Then we took that and thought about how it could relate to our everyday lives. All of Fauna’s animals relate to us, personally.” 

‘Fauna’ also marks the return of keyboard player Peter Jones, whose sounds can be heard permeating the entire album. “What Pete’s brought sonically to the band has played a massive role in why we do have a lot of new sounds on this record,” says Ross. “It’s always a new dynamic when there’s a change in personnel, and this is a fresh and reviving one. It’s certainly helped proximity-wise, with Pete being in the country: Pete and Ray [Hearne, Haken’s drummer] would be at Rich’s place and they’d just start jamming. That’s really key to how the songs start.”