March 26, 2022

Hell In The Club is an Italian hard/melodic rock band which comprises Davide Moras (Elvenking) on vocals, Andrea Buratto (Eternal Idol/ Secret Sphere) on bass, Marco Lazzarini (Secret Sphere/Archon Angel) on drums and the much in demand session musician Andrea Piccardi on guitar. The band is definitely on the hard side of melodic with a sound probably best described as Iron Maiden meets Motley Crüe which makes them a vital and very listenable band. They released the well received Hell Of Fame in 2020 which was a delicious sleaze rock/metal outing full of bump ‘n’ grind classics that showed that this is a band determined to have a good time whilst still delivering high quality rock and roll.

The band formed in 2009 with the debut album Let The Games Begin and the idea behind this EP was to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the record but is, obviously, just a little overdue for this landmark occasion. However, this is a neat 5-track EP featuring 25-minutes of typical frenetic hard rock that shows just what a good metal band Hell In The Club is and how much they like to party.

The EP kicks off with two new tracks in Kamikaze and 10 Years In The Slums both of which are pretty indicative of where the band is today and on a par with the material shown on Hell Of Fame. They then follow this with a couple of covers with the Alice Cooper song He’s Back (The Man Behind the Mask) and then Chainsaw Charlie (Murders in the New Morgue) from W.A.S.P. and both are loving and most interesting versions offered up by the band. The EP closes with In Your Eyes 2021 which is a newly re-worked version of a song that only appeared on the Japanese version of Let The Games Begin.

Kamikaze – 10 Years In The Slums is a well thought out EP that all fans of the band will want to own and you owe it to this fine band to give it a listen to as it will introduce you to another high quality rock band from Italy. This work is initially only available on digital platforms but a vinyl release is planned for June when there will also be a deluxe version including a release on cassette, talk about retro or what!

Kamikaze – 10 Years In The Slums

  1. Kamikaze (4:16)
  2. 10 Years In The Slums (3:36)
  3. He’s Back (The Man Behind the Mask) [Alice Cooper cover] (4:02)
  4. Chainsaw Charlie (Murders in the New Morgue) [W.A.S.P. cover] (7:47)
  5. In Your Eyes 2021 (4:58)