August 8, 2021

This past Friday, Norwegian blackened Viking metal band HJELVIK unleashes a brand-new single called Synkverving, featuring a guest appearance from Lars Nedland from White Void and Borknagar. The single follows the release of HJELVIK‘s debut album Welcome To Hel from late 2020, which is based strongly on Norse mythology and Viking themes, paired with the band’s raw and sinister tone.

The single Synkverving comes with an animated music video that you can watch below.

Frontman Erlend Hjelvik comments: “This doomy little ditty was recorded during the Welcome to Hel sessions and is now released in all its glory with a brand-new mix and master courtesy of fellow countryman Endre Kirkesola (AbbathGreen Carnation). Making things sound extra Norwegian, Synkverving features the debut of HJELVIK rhythm guitarist Remi André Nygård and awesome guest vocals and organ by Lars Are Nedland (White VoidBorknagaarSolefald). The cherry on top of this pagan pie is an animated video created by Zak Kirwin (GhoulSpirit Adrift) who brings the “mound people” to life! Listen loud!”

Welcome To Hel track list

  1. Father War
  2. Thor’s Hammer
  3. Helgrinda
  4. The Power Of Ballad Of Freyr
  5. Glory Of Hel
  6. 12th Spell
  7. Ironwood
  8. Kveldulv
  9. North Tsar
  10. Necromance

Welcome to Hel was recorded and mixed at The Hallowed Halls in Portland, Oregon, US by Justin Phelps (Joe Satriani, Poison Idea, Slough Feg) and mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer Alan Douches (Mastodon, Converge, Baroness).

HJELVIK is the solo band of ex-KVELERTAK frontman, lyricist and co-founder Erlend Hjelvik. After touring worldwide with some of the world’s greatest bands such as Metallica, Slayer and Ghost, and earning four Norwegian Spellemann awards, Erlend parted ways with his bandmates in 2018 and has spent the last two years song writing and creating HJELVIK‘s first solo album.

Erlend Hjelvik – Vocals, Lyrics and Songwriting
Rob Steinway – Lead Guitar
Remi André Nygård – Rhythm Guitar
Alexis Lieu – Bass
Kevin Foley – Drums

HJEKVIK online:

Official Website