September 6, 2022

Hydra is yet another new melodic rock band hailing from Sweden and was put together by the Stockholm based musician and song writer Henrik Hedström with Point Break being the band’s debut album. Hedström plays keyboards and guitar and he has brought in a wealth of talent with Andi Kravljaca (Aeon Zen, Seventh Wonder) providing the vocals as well as lead and rhythm guitar, the renowned Daniel Flores (First Signal, Find Me, The Murder Of My Sweet) supplies drums and keyboards with Jonny Trobro (Find Me, First Signal) on bass. Hedström and Flores have a good deal of history between them as songwriters and have previously provided material for fellow label mates First Signal and Beat Them All. Together, they are a well seasoned team with a host of quality music behind them and Point Break continues in the fine tradition of very radio friendly Scandinavian AOR/melodic rock.

The album contains many fine ballads with the beautiful To Say Goodbye closing the album with the dreamy voice of Elena Valente combining perfectly with Kravljaca. There are, as expected, the usual burning stadium rockers too with each song being a perfectly developed anthemic delight with sublime vocal harmonies and delicious hooks.

This is AOR very much in Toto territory played by a team of supremely talented musicians that will appeal to melodic rock fans everywhere.

Point Break

  1. Stop The Madness (4:31)
  2. Bringing Down The Moon (4:10)
  3. No Lullaby (4:58)
  4. Stay A While (3:59)
  5. Angela (3:58)
  6. Forever My Love (4:26)
  7. Never Be The Same (3:54)
  8. Doors Of Love (4:57)
  9. The Most Wanted (3:49)
  10. Suspicious (3:36)
  11. To Say Goodbye (3:58)