February 12, 2021

Immortal Guardian is a progressive/power metal band ostensibly from Austin in Texas which originally formed in 2008 and released a couple of demos and EPs before putting out the reasonably well received debut, Age Of Revolution, in 2018. Immortal Guardian has now released their second album but have lost a couple of members along the way and now line-up with vocalist Carlos Zema and guitarist/ keyboard player Gabriel Guardian with the new boys being drummer Justin Piedimonte and bass player Joshua Lopez.

Their brand of power metal falls neatly into the Dragonforce and Kamelot category and they will win many new friends with this new and most exciting album. The record was produced under strict lock down protocols with each member producing his work separately which is something that we are starting to see more of in this brave new world that we all live in. Gabriel Guardian produced his part in Las Vegas, with Zemo recording vocals from home in Brazil, Piedimonte recording drums in Montreal and with only Lopez supplying bass from the band’s ‘home’ in Texas. The band actually got together early in 2020 to start work on the album but when the shutdowns began to take place they scrapped the work that they had begun and started afresh on a concept work about the crisis and the effects it was having across all walks of life.

Immortal Guardian has already released a couple of singles from the album and if you get chance to check out Clocks on YouTube then you should do so as it is quite remarkable as it shows the talents of Gabriel Guardian as he plays both keyboards and guitar at the same time and has already racked up an incredible amount of views, this is one man who can most certainly play. Psychosomatic is an excelled power metal album that crosses boundaries into prog metal with excellent performances all round with strong songs that are served up perfectly for us all to savour. Check out the shredding of Guardian as he is a talent to keep track of and Immortal Guardian is a name that we will all hear more of when the world gets back to normal. I must also point out the strong vocal performance of Carlos Zema as he is on fire and delivers his vocals with a great strength and power and is a real asset to the band. It just shows that the choice of material is just so important to a vocalist as this is the same singer who seemed out of place on the recently reviewed Amoriello EP and on this album he is powerful, vital and perfect. If you thought that the art of song writing was easy then this remarkable transformation shows that this is obviously not the case.

Psychosomatic track list

  1. Psychosomatic (5:33)
  2. Read Between The Lines (6:01)
  3. Lockdown (4:12)
  4. Phobia (6:13)
  5. Clocks (5:12)
  6. Self-Isolation (0:39)
  7. Goodbye To Farewells (5:50)
  8. Candlelight (5:24)
  9. Find A Reason (7:00)
  10. New Day Rising (5:56)