October 16, 2020

First of all, apologies to any Australians reading this as I understand James Reyne is very much rock royalty down under but he is an artist I do not know at all. It seems he has been active as since 1975 as both a solo artist with Toon Town Lullaby being his twelfth studio album as well as a band member in Australian Crawl and Company Of Strangers.

Reyne is something of a pop/rock cross over artist with Toon Town Lullaby very much in pop/folk territory. His voice reminds me a little of Darren Hayes ex of Savage Garden but, of course, Reyne came first. His latest album is the first for eight years so will be welcomed back home and his soft and reflective delivery is simply perfect for the singer songwriter market with some comparisons to the great James Taylor. The material is gentle and reflective and it almost seems that he is singing just for you with his precise and moving lyrics which are tales of love, friendship and ecology and all with no little humour. It is understandable why he is so highly regarded in Australia as this is virtually perfect singer songwriter material and a quite masterful performance from a man who simple shines with star quality.

Toon Town Lullaby track list

  1. Toon Town Lullaby (4:20)
  2. A Little Ol’ Town South Of Bakersfield (4:02)
  3. Low Hanging Fruit (3:22)
  4. Burning Books (4:44)
  5. Calamity Jane (3:41)
  6. Trying To Write A love Song (3:03)
  7. This Time (3:31)
  8. The Tallest Man I Ever Knew) (4:22)
  9. Last Great Affair (4:51)
  10. Wrong Guy (4:28)