March 7, 2022

Frontiers Music Srl is pleased to announce the upcoming release of a new solo album, My Father’s Son, by Finnish guitarist/songwriter Jani Liimatainen (The Dark Element, Insomnium). Out on 6th May, his impeccable skills are on full display, with a stellar cast of friends also lending their talents to proceedings. A first single from from the record entitled All Dreams Are Born To Die is out today and features guest lead vocals from Tony Kakko of Sonata Arctica.

Other guest singers on the album are Björn ‘Speed’ Strid (Soilwork, The Night Flight Orchestra), Timo Kotipelto (Stratovarius), Anette Olzon (The Dark Element), Renan Zonta (Electric Mob), Pekka Heino (Brother Firetribe) and Antti Railio (Celesty, Diecell), while Liimatainen himself also takes on lead vocal duties. Bassist Jonas Kuhlberg (One Desire), drummer Rolf Pilve (Stratovarius, Smackbound) and pianist Jarkko Lahti join Liimatainen in handling the instrumentation, with additional guest solo spots provided by keyboardist Jens Johansson (Stratovarius, Rainbow) and saxophonist Janne Huttunen.

Liimatainen‘s career began as a founding member and guitarist for one of Finland’s premiere power metal bands, Sonata Arctica. He is currently a member of the melodic death metal band Insomnium, as well as a member of Cain’s Offering (with Kotipelto) and the guitarist and songwriter of the symphonic metal band The Dark Element (alongside former Nightwish vocalist Anette Olzon). Cain’s Offering and The Dark Element have each released two well-received albums that have racked up millions of audio streams and video views.

These highlights of his musical resumé speak volumes for Liimatainen‘s undoubted talent and mounting legacy in the world of heavy music. The ambitious vision of My Father’s Son is sure to further cement his standing as one of the great musical talents to emerge from Finland.

My Father’s Son

  1. Breathing Divinity (vocals: Björn ‘Speed’ Strid)
  2. All Dreams Are Born To Die (vocals: Tony Kakko)
  3. What Do You Want (vocals: Renan Zonta)
  4. Who Are We (vocals: Timo Kotipelto)
  5. Side By Side (vocals: Pekka Heino)
  6. The Music Box (vocals: Renan Zonta)
  7. Into The Fray (vocals: Timo Kotipelto)
  8. I Could Stop Now (vocals: Anette Olzon)
  9. Haunted House (vocals: Jani Liimatainen)
  10. My Father’s Son (vocals: Antti Railio)

Jani Liimatainen – guitars, keyboards, programming
Jonas Kuhlberg – bass
Rolf Pilve – drums
Jarkko Lahti – piano
Jens Johansson – guest keyboard solo
Janne Huttunen – guest saxophone solo
Petri Aho, JC Halttunen, Tony Kakko, Jani Liimatainen, Anette Olzon, Antti Railio, Björn Strid, Lassi Vääränen, Renan Zonta – backing vocals