February 16, 2024

Joanne Shaw Taylor Reunites With Producer Kevin Shirley On New Studio Album Heavy Soul – Releases June 7th On Journeyman Records

Her Latest Single “Heavy Soul,” Delves into the Depths of Emotional Struggles with its Powerful Lyrics and Soul-Stirring Melodies

STREAM the single “Heavy Soul”; Watch the Official Music Video for “Heavy Soul” below, and Pre-order the album HERE

JST!

Joanne Shaw Taylor, recognized for her exceptional guitar skills and powerful songwriting, continues her ascent in the music world with this new release. Her journey, which began at the age of 16 when discovered by Dave Stewart of the Eurythmics, has seen her garner accolades from music icons like Stevie Wonder and Annie Lennox. Following the success of albums like Reckless HeartThe Blues Album, and Nobody’s Fool, Joanne’s Heavy Soul is poised to be another landmark in her illustrious career.

Heavy Soul emerges from Joanne’s creative vision of bridging the gap between her previous album Nobody’s Fool and her blues origins. The album promises a fusion of contemporary soul-pop with traditional blues roots. The album features an array of accomplished musicians, including Anton FigAlison Presswood, and Rob McNelley blending their unique talents to create an unforgettable musical experience. 

Reflecting on the creation of Heavy Soul, Joanne shares, “For me, it was about connecting the dots from ‘Nobody’s Fool’ back into the blues… It’s a mix of contemporary soul-pop and roots music.”

“Heavy Soul,” the title track, resonates with Joanne’s emotive vocals and rich guitar riffs. The single showcases her skill in blending traditional blues with dynamic rhythms and melodies.

CD Track Listing

1. Sweet ‘Lil Lies
2. All The Way From America
3. Black Magic
4. Drowning In A Sea Of Love
5. A Good Goodbye
6. Heavy Soul
7. Wild Love
8. Someone Like You
9. Devil In Me
10. Change Of Heart

Fans can also look forward to Joanne’s Spring U.S. 2024 Tour, where she will treat audiences to her latest hits and classic anthems. The tour, spanning across the East Coast and Southeast, starts in Virginia BeachVA, on March 29th, and concludes in SkokieIL, on May 3rd.

ABOUT JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR

Joanne Shaw Taylor, discovered at 16 by Dave Stewart of the Eurythmics, quickly ascended as one of the world’s leading rock guitarists. Championed by legends like Stevie Wonder, Annie Lennox, and Joe Bonamassa, her powerful songwriting, and distinct vocals first captivated audiences with her 2009 debut, White Sugar. Over the years, Joanne has released numerous acclaimed albums, including the UK Top 20 hit Reckless Heart and the #1 Billboard Blues Chart toppers The Blues Album and Blues From The Heart Live. Her most recent studio album, Nobody’s Fool, launched under Bonamassa’s Journeyman Records in 2022, showcases collaborations with industry icons and highlights her continually evolving artistry. Currently on tour, Joanne remains an influential force in blues rock, eagerly anticipating her next album release.

JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR – FEBRUARY 2024 UK TOUR DATES

Tickets available from www.joanneshawtaylor.com/tour

Special guest: Connor Selby

Saturday, February 17 –  Royal Northern College of Music – Manchester
Sunday, February 18 –  Queen Margaret Union –   Glasgow
Monday, February 19 – City Varieties Music Hall  – Leeds
Wednesday, February 21 –  The Fire Station –  Sunderland
Thursday, February 22 – Indigo at The O2 – London
Friday, February 23 – The Wulfrun – Wolverhampton
Sunday, February 25 – The Waterfront – Norwich
Monday, February 26 – De La Warr Pavilion – Bexhill
Wednesday, February 28 – The Apex – Bury St Edmunds
Thursday, February 29 – Palace Theatre – Southend


JOANNE SHAW TAYLOR – 2024 US TOUR DATES

Tickets available from www.joanneshawtaylor.com/tour

Friday, March 29 – Virginia Beach, VA – The Sandler Center
Saturday, March 30 – Greenville, SC – Peace Center
Monday, April 1 – Franklin, TN – The Franklin Theatre
Thursday, April 4 – Montgomery, AL – Montgomery Performing Arts Centre
Friday, April 5 – Macon, GA – Capitol Theatre
Tuesday, April 9 – Fort Lauderdale, FL – The Parker
Thursday, April 11 – Cornelius, NC – Cain Center for the Arts
Friday, April 12 – Annapolis, MD – Rams Head On Stage
Saturday, April 13 – Riverhead, NY – The Suffolk
Monday, April 15 – Homer, NY – Center for the Arts of Homer
Tuesday, April 16 – Old Saybrook, CT – The Kate
Thursday, April 18 – Portsmouth, NH – Jimmy’s Jazz & Blues Club
Friday, April 19 – Great Barrington, MA – Mahaiwe Performing Arts Center
Saturday, April 20 – Sellersville, PA – Sellersville Theater
Tuesday, April 23 – Red Bank, NJ – The Vogel
Thursday, April 25 – State College, PA – The State Theatre
Friday, April 26 – Hagerstown, MD – The Maryland Theatre
Sunday, April 28 – Royal Oak, MI – Royal Oak Music Theatre
Monday, April 29 – Kent, OH – The Kent Stage
Wednesday, May 1 – Pittsburgh, PA – Byham Theater
Thursday, May 2 – Frankfort, KY – The Grand Theatre
Friday, May 3 – Skokie, IL – North Shore Center in Skokie