May 23, 2022

The name Johnny Casino may not be too well know but he is one of those larger than life artists who can turn his hand to just about anything and is a genre crossing musician dripping with so much style, talent and charisma that if you could bottle the essence of the man then you would make an absolute fortune! Casino is another of those hard working, Australian rock journeymen equally at home in front of five drunks in some seedy downtown Australian bar or in front of 50,000 screaming fans and what you see is very much what you get.

Johnny Casino aka John A Spittles made something of a name for himself being the founding member of the Australian rock and roll band Asteroid B612 as well as performing as Johnny Casino’s Easy Action, Johnny Casino And The Secrets, The Egos, The Lord Street Sound and the Downtown 3 so a busy man he is then! He is one of those artists who have soaked up many influences over the years but I guess he secretly wishes he had been around in the ’50s with Link Ray, Chuck Berry and Roy Orbison with a touch of MC5 and Tom Petty/Traveling Wilburys thrown in for good measure. The man is an exceptional guitarist and has produced a number of rock and roll albums with plenty of stunning wailing and screaming guitars but much of his work is born out of traditional rock and roll and it is a style that he is very good at.

Casino’s latest album is available on digital platforms as an 11-track release but there is also a limited box set release of 7″ singles restricted to 200 worldwide which features a further 6 bonus demo tracks with the box containing 5 singles hence the name of 5X7. The box also contains all of the tracks on a CD too with a handmade booklet so it is very much an individual work of art. Each single contains a newly re-recorded Casino original song on the A side and a cover of some of his favourite bands on the B side and features tracks by Love, The Animals, Rodriguez, Lee Hazelwood and The 13th Floor Elevators. Johnny Casino sings as well as plays guitar, bass and percussion with some long time colleagues helping out with Isidro Rubio on drums, Julain Marco on bass and Lucy Ellis on delicious backing vocals.

If you like a bit of retro rock and roll from a genuine and honest musician then check out this wonderful download and his amazing back catalogue which can be accessed through Bandcamp.

5×7 The Days Of Wine And Cola

  1. Another Girl (3:08)
  2. My Flash On You (2:05)
  3. The Sound Of Lies (3:33)
  4. Like Janis (2:50)
  5. Never Should Have Gambled (2:57)
  6. I´m Crying (3:13)
  7. I Still Don´t Know (3:20)
  8. I Move Around (3:16)
  9. Straight Down The Line (3:00)
  10. Reverberation (4:30)
  11. Love Over Fear (4:07)