December 11, 2020
Photo by Alex Solca

Joseph Williams will release his new solo album, Denizen Tenant on February 26, 2021 via The Players Club / Mascot Label Group.  Ahead of this he has release his second song from the album and self-produced video for Liberty Man.

In reference to Liberty Man, Williams shares, “Liberty Man, my latest tune with David Paich, is also a reunion with my Toto bro’s Simon Phillips and Leland Sklar.  Also featured are the incredible Mike Landau and of course my partner Steve Lukather! The song is simple.  I love open spaces and cherish the freedom to come and go where I will.  It’s a swashbuckler in six eight with a clear Toto vibe!”  Both Joseph Williams and Steve Lukather will release solo albums simultaneously on February 26, 2021. Both artists made significant contribution to the other’s masters.

Joseph Williams’ Denizen Tenant was self-produced outside of Black Dahlia and No Lessons which were arranged and produced by Jay Gruska and mixed by Dave Way. The musicians and singers who made contributions in the studio reads like a who’s who of players that have been in the artist’s life over the past four decades. Amongst these contributors are band-mates from Toto David Paich and Steve Lukather. Simon Phillips, Leland Sklar, Lenny Castro, Nathan East, all of whom enjoyed tenures in Toto are also featured players on the album. Additional contributions include performances by Oscar Bugarin, Jay Gruska, Mike Landau, Barbara Gruska, Steve Overton, Dylan Ronan, Hannah Ruick, Steve Tavaloni, Weston Wilson, Ray Williams, and Mark T. Williams

The album was produced and mixed at Digbyroad Studios, Sherman Oaks, CA.  Denizen Tenant features a dozen new recordings. Amongst these are a cover of The Beatles If I Fell, which Williams cites as the one specific song that taught him about the power of harmonies and vocal arrangements. On Peter Gabriel‘s Don’t Give Up, a very special guest performance is featured in his daughter Hannah laying down a vocal track. You can see full liner notes here.

At age fifteen, Williams began his career as a radio and television commercial singer.  Joseph also achieved success as a television and film composer in the late ’90s and early 2000’s.  He fronted Toto as a lead vocalist from 1986 to 1988, and was featured on the albums Fahrenheit (1986) and The Seventh One (1988).  He also appeared on the 2006 release Falling in Between, sharing lead vocals with Luke on Bottom of Your Soul.  In 2010 he returned to the band, becoming front man and lead vocalist, a tenure that continues through today.  He has released ten solo albums, and is an Emmy Award nominated film composer. His career as a session vocalist has placed his voice indelibly in pop culture through the dozens of performances in the medium of film, amongst which is his role as the adult Simba on The Lion King. Williams voice is featured on Hakuna Matata alongside Can You Feel The Love Tonight.  He is the son of film composer John Williams and actress Barbera Ruick. For broader detail on his credits click here and here 

Denizen Tenant track list

  1. Never Saw You Coming
  2. Liberty Man
  3. Denizen Tenant
  4. Wilma Fingadoux
  5. Black Dahlia (feat. David Paich)
  6. Don’t Give Up (feat. Hannah Ruick)
  7. The Dream
  8. Remember Her (feat Steve Lukather)
  9. No Lessons
  10. Mistress Winter’s Jump
  11. If I Fell (feat Steve Lukather)
  12. World Broken